| Gauss |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
It doesn't matter how many actions the person provoking takes, moving out of more than one square counts as only one opportunity per round.
Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.
| Kobold Catgirl |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
This said, wouldn't such a double move require you to literally be moving around the guy in circles? Barring major size and reach increases, I mean. ;D
I can picture it now...a gnome or kender dancing around the ogre, singing about how "You can only hit me once! You can only hit me—my goodness, you do all that in a single hit?"
| Gauss |
SiuoL, I have already quoted the rules which state why you are not correct.
If an enemy takes 1, 2, 3, or 4 "Move" move actions in a round you only get ONE AoO for ALL of that movement.
It simply does not matter how many "Move" move actions are taken in a round, it all counts as a single opportunity per round as per the rules I quoted above.
| Forseti |
It's your choice, but you're only going to get one AOO per move action no matter how many squares are crossed.
I don't feel this is RAW.
You move from a threatened square, you provoke. The rules dictate when you provoke, not the opponent you're provoking. If the opponent doesn't take the opportunity, and you move from another threatened square, he doesn't get another one, because "Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent."
The first opportunity, the one not taken by the opponent, doesn't stop being an opportunity.
claudekennilol
|
LazarX wrote:It's your choice, but you're only going to get one AOO per move action no matter how many squares are crossed.I don't feel this is RAW.
You move from a threatened square, you provoke. The rules dictate when you provoke, not the opponent you're provoking. If the opponent doesn't take the opportunity, and you move from another threatened square, he doesn't get another one, because "Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent."
The first opportunity, the one not taken by the opponent, doesn't stop being an opportunity.
This. The rules prevent you from walking between two rogues and them delaying their AoOs to the second square (where you're leaving from a flanked position instead of the first square you leave to get into a flanked position) so that they can sneak attack you. I don't agree with it, but as printed, you only provoke per enemy from the first threatened square you leave. If they don't take that AoO at the first opportunity there is never a second, even if you continue walking circles around them.
| kestral287 |
This said, wouldn't such a double move require you to literally be moving around the guy in circles? Barring major size and reach increases, I mean. ;D
I can picture it now...a gnome or kender dancing around the ogre, singing about how "You can only hit me once! You can only hit me—my goodness, you do all that in a single hit?"
But not a kobold, right? They're nothing if not serious and straight-laced.
| Kazaan |
LazarX wrote:It's your choice, but you're only going to get one AOO per move action no matter how many squares are crossed.I don't feel this is RAW.
You move from a threatened square, you provoke. The rules dictate when you provoke, not the opponent you're provoking. If the opponent doesn't take the opportunity, and you move from another threatened square, he doesn't get another one, because "Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent."
The first opportunity, the one not taken by the opponent, doesn't stop being an opportunity.
Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. That means that moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round counts as the same opportunity for that opponent. When you perform a provoking action, reading a scroll for instance, it happens in an instant; one and done. You don't have multiple squares in which to decide to take the AoO. But the act of moving is "spread out" over several squares, but the entire movement counts as a single opportunity. Essentially, each time they leave a square provokes, but the entirety of the movement counts as a single opportunity. So you can decide where you take your AoO under a single caveat; you technically don't know where they are moving to. The moving player is supposed to declare first that they are leaving the square (chance for another character to take an AoO), and then resolve that part of the move by moving to another square. To illustrate:
ORO
AOX
ORO
Character X is facing off two Rogues. X wants to move to spot A. He "could" move straight through the middle, but then he'd put himself into flanking position in which the Rogues could decide to take their AoOs. So X declares, first, he intends to move from his current square. The Rogues will likely pass, for the moment, on their AoOs because they expect X will move right between them. Instead, X moves thusly:
ORX
AOO
ORO
X is now outside of the bottom Rogue's threatened area. He can then skirt around the top Rogue and only risks provoking an AoO from a single Rogue.
claudekennilol
|
Forseti wrote:LazarX wrote:It's your choice, but you're only going to get one AOO per move action no matter how many squares are crossed.I don't feel this is RAW.
You move from a threatened square, you provoke. The rules dictate when you provoke, not the opponent you're provoking. If the opponent doesn't take the opportunity, and you move from another threatened square, he doesn't get another one, because "Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent."
The first opportunity, the one not taken by the opponent, doesn't stop being an opportunity.
Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. That means that moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round counts as the same opportunity for that opponent. When you perform a provoking action, reading a scroll for instance, it happens in an instant; one and done. You don't have multiple squares in which to decide to take the AoO. But the act of moving is "spread out" over several squares, but the entire movement counts as a single opportunity. Essentially, each time they leave a square provokes, but the entirety of the movement counts as a single opportunity. So you can decide where you take your AoO under a single caveat; you technically don't know where they are moving to. The moving player is supposed to declare first that they are leaving the square (chance for another character to take an AoO), and then resolve that part of the move by moving to another square. To illustrate:
ORO
AOX
OROCharacter X is facing off two Rogues. X wants to move to spot A. He "could" move straight through the middle, but then he'd put himself into flanking position in which the Rogues could decide to take their AoOs. So X declares, first, he intends to move from his...
That is one interpretation.
relevant rules:
Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.
...
Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity bonus to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.
I suppose logically from this we could pull out that moving from more than one square in the same round is only one opportunity. But it's verbose enough that I can see it either way. I'd never actually argue with a gm at the table about it.
| Kazaan |
Leaving more than one threatened square is not more than one opportunity. Therefore, it (moving out of more than one threatened square) is one or fewer opportunities. It would be absurd to say it is a fraction of an opportunity as well as a negative number of opportunities, and we understand implicitly that moving out of more than one threatened square isn't zero opportunities, therefore we can only logically conclude that "moving out of more than one threatened square" is exactly one (1) opportunity, just the same as moving out of a single threatened square. Just because there are multiple interpretations doesn't mean that those other interpretations are logically sound and/or correct.