
Whale_Cancer |

Range wrote:
A spell's range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the range entry of the spell description. A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell's point of origin. If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted. Standard ranges include the following.

Joesi |
I think what you're really asking is if it's rules-legal for a player character to reduce the AoE of a spell on demand.
I'm quite sure the answer is no, but don't know of a case where it particularly states that (although I don't think it's necessary to have to explicitly state something that one can't do)
That said, obviously a DM could allow at-will radius changes as a house rule, or the DM could flat-out permanently change the spells AoE radius.

Barry Armstrong |

PRD wrote:
(S) Shapeable: If an area or effect entry ends with “(S),” you can shape the spell. A shaped effect or area can have no dimension smaller than 10 feet. Many effects or areas are given as cubes to make it easy to model irregular shapes. Three-dimensional volumes are most often needed to define aerial or underwater effects and areas.
Only shapeable area spells can be reduced. Otherwise it emanates at whatever starting point you designate and spreads to the full cone, line, or radius.