Magus, TWF, spell combat / spellstrike, and Kama: double chained.


Rules Questions


A friend talked about this build concept, and I was wondering if everything worked the way we think it does.

The basic idea of it is that the magus becomes less of a crit build and more of a two weapon fighting build. However, the magus can still combine spell combat with a reach weapon, since the double-chained kama can be wielded instead as a one-handed weapon with reach.

So basically, I want to make sure and clarify a few things.

Does the Kama: double chained actually qualify as two weapons for the purposes of the feats for two weapon fighting?

Can a character freely switch between modes of wielding to suit the situation?

Does using the chain as a reach attack actually make it into a one-handed weapon, similar to a whip? Or is it now a two handed weapon?

If the above counts as a two handed weapon, could you instead drop the kama in your off hand as a free action, preform your spell combat, and pick it back up before the end of your turn as a free action?

Liberty's Edge

Johnny_Devo wrote:

A friend talked about this build concept, and I was wondering if everything worked the way we think it does.

The basic idea of it is that the magus becomes less of a crit build and more of a two weapon fighting build. However, the magus can still combine spell combat with a reach weapon, since the double-chained kama can be wielded instead as a one-handed weapon with reach.

That isn't what the weapon description say. It say:

PRD wrote:
The wielder can attack as if armed with a single kama in each hand or extend the chain to make a single reach attack

Very different from "can use the weapon like a one handed weapon".

Instead it is using it as a 2 handed weapon that can make a single reach attack in one round.

Johnny_Devo wrote:


So basically, I want to make sure and clarify a few things.

Does the Kama: double chained actually qualify as two weapons for the purposes of the feats for two weapon fighting?

Quote:
can attack as if armed with a single kama in each hand

So:

Yes

Johnny_Devo wrote:


Can a character freely switch between modes of wielding to suit the situation?

No, the weapon description say that you can "extend the chain to make a single reach attack". That "single" is extremely limiting.

Even making with a full attack, if you use it as a reach weapon you are limited to a single attack.

Johnny_Devo wrote:


Does using the chain as a reach attack actually make it into a one-handed weapon, similar to a whip? Or is it now a two handed weapon?

Two handed weapon.

Johnny_Devo wrote:


If the above counts as a two handed weapon, could you instead drop the kama in your off hand as a free action, preform your spell combat, and pick it back up before the end of your turn as a free action?

That is tricky.

RAW the weapon type don't change but RAI I think it will change.
I would allow it.

All the above is a typical example why eastern weapon with unusual abilities aren't a good idea unless they come with a detailed description on how they interact with the other parts of the game.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Johnny_Devo wrote:
If the above counts as a two handed weapon, could you instead drop the kama in your off hand as a free action, preform your spell combat, and pick it back up before the end of your turn as a free action?

The spell uses your offhand and so does TWF so you can't combine.


Johnny_Devo wrote:
If the above counts as a two handed weapon, could you instead drop the kama in your off hand as a free action, preform your spell combat, and pick it back up before the end of your turn as a free action?

So if I understand you, during Spell Combat you want to wield just one end as if it were a standard kama while dragging the chain and other kama on the ground. That sounds like an awkward way to fight, and there is nothing in the weapon description that says this is possible. You either fight with one end in each hand or one end in both hands. Either way, it is still classified as a two-handed weapon and so is incompatible with the requirements for Spell Combat. What you would need is a feat like Quarterstaff Master saying that it could be wielded as a one-handed weapon that leaves your other hand free.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus, TWF, spell combat / spellstrike, and Kama: double chained. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions