Energy Resistance and multiple projectiles


Rules Questions


This came up last session: A party member with fire resistance got hit by several rays from a single scorching ray spell. Does his fire resistance apply to each ray or only once for the whole spell?

Grand Lodge

Each ray.


I would say per ray as each one is a separate attack.


Jeff Merola wrote:
Each ray.

Do you have a source?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Resist Energy wrote:
The subject gains resist energy 10 against the energy type chosen, meaning that each time the creature is subjected to such damage (whether from a natural or magical source), that damage is reduced by 10 points before being applied to the creature's hit points.
Energy Resistance wrote:
A creature with resistance to energy has the ability (usually extraordinary) to ignore some damage of a certain type per attack

Liberty's Edge

+1 for each ray. Each ray has its own attack roll, so they each get their own damage roll, which makes them separate damage instances that apply defense separately. It's no different from a typical full attack versus DR, save that you get multiple attacks with a standard action instead of a full-round.

There is a spell that makes an exception to that rule, Meteor Swarm, but scorching ray has no such exception.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Energy Resistance and multiple projectiles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions