Can a construct type Character drink a potion?


Rules Questions


My group has an alchemist clockwork automanton (3pp), wich is a construct type, is there any problem with him drinking potions or using his extracts?


I would think only if the potion in question would not normally affect a construct; for example: Cure Light Wounds...

EDITED: Actually, upon further thought, if the construct type does not eat or drink, then they can't effectively use potions.


Quote:

Activation: Drinking a potion or applying an oil requires no special skill. The user merely removes the stopper and swallows the potion or smears on the oil. The following rules govern potion and oil use.

Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or oil provokes attacks of opportunity. An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container, preventing the character from drinking the potion or applying the oil.

A creature must be able to swallow a potion or smear on an oil. Because of this, incorporeal creatures cannot use potions or oils. Any corporeal creature can imbibe a potion or use an oil.

A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action, trickling the liquid down the creature's throat. Likewise, it takes a full-round action to apply an oil to an unconscious creature.


It's also important to note that due to the construct creature type it cannot benefit from healing spells (I believe) but can be affected by make whole and sometimes other things.


i was thinking the same, but them i saw that a construct dont "eat, breath or sleep", but it says nothing about drinking, and some creature types say especifically that they dont drink.

thank you.


Emphasis on the

Quote:
Any corporeal creature can imbibe a potion or use an oil.

I'm pretty sure the statement "constructs do not eat, breathe or sleep" is just mistaken/simplified semantics/syntax, rather than saying that they aren't physically capable of eating. In my opinion it's just saving word space, since they don't need to ever breathe, don't need to eat, and don't need to sleep and are immune to sleep effects.

Claxon wrote:
It's also important to note that due to the construct creature type it cannot benefit from healing spells (I believe) but can be affected by make whole and sometimes other things.

Namely it can be affected byInfernal healing which some might interpret as a bit broken, but it's quite clearly legal by the rules.

edit: actually based off the race description, it somewhat seems to be implying that infernal healing wouldn't work, since it seems to somewhat be implying (but doesn't directly say), that the spell's target/description must specifically mention constructs.

Regrading the 3rd party race clockwork automaton, I personally consider the acid vulnerability terribly unrealistic, since metals are far more resilient to acid than organic materials; it makes no sense. Obviously it's for balance reasons though. The electricity vulnerability makes sense though (although I have a bit of a peeve with rules that talk about metal armor taking additional Lightning damage, since it would realistically completely negate it. That isn't this scenario though). Aside from that it seems like a very well done 3rd party race (maybe even too weak?).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Advanced Race Guide has this to say:

Quote:
Constructs do not breathe, eat, or sleep, unless they want to gain some beneficial effect from one of these activities. This means that a construct can drink potions to benefit from their effects and can sleep in order to regain spells, but neither of these activities is required to survive or stay in good health.


Jeraa wrote:

The Advanced Race Guide has this to say:

Quote:
Constructs do not breathe, eat, or sleep, unless they want to gain some beneficial effect from one of these activities. This means that a construct can drink potions to benefit from their effects and can sleep in order to regain spells, but neither of these activities is required to survive or stay in good health.

ahh nice. That's exactly what I was thinking (although didn't know it specifically said that anywhere).

Grand Lodge

Jeraa wrote:

The Advanced Race Guide has this to say:

Quote:
Constructs do not breathe, eat, or sleep, unless they want to gain some beneficial effect from one of these activities. This means that a construct can drink potions to benefit from their effects and can sleep in order to regain spells, but neither of these activities is required to survive or stay in good health.

There are spells however that will not affect constructs, such as healing spells. Potions based on them will be equally ineffective.


Jeraa wrote:

The Advanced Race Guide has this to say:

Quote:
Constructs do not breathe, eat, or sleep, unless they want to gain some beneficial effect from one of these activities. This means that a construct can drink potions to benefit from their effects and can sleep in order to regain spells, but neither of these activities is required to survive or stay in good health.

Thanks!

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

They can drink potions and such. However, they do not benefit from cure spells because they're not living creatures.


Shogal wrote:

My group has an alchemist clockwork automanton (3pp), wich is a construct type, is there any problem with him drinking potions or using his extracts?

I've got this vision of the construct experiencing the same unfortunate demise as the shackled robot in MedievalWorld in Westworld.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a construct type Character drink a potion? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions