tower shield. create pit


Rules Questions


If an ally ahead of me has taken full cover,can I cast a CREATE PIT spell past his tower shield to the opponent adjacent.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If he has taken full cover using the tower shield, then yes, you can sink him.

If he were hiding behind a wall, it's a little more difficult, as you need line of sight to the pit's point of origin.


Also, just saying, when you go to post a new thread please do not hammer on the "Submit" button and make four copies of this thread.


http://www.d20pfsrd.com/equipment---final/armor/shield-tower wrote:

Benefit: In most situations, a tower shield provides the indicated shield bonus to your Armor Class. As a standard action, however, you can use a tower shield to grant you total cover until the beginning of your next turn. When using a tower shield in this way, you must choose one edge of your space. That edge is treated as a solid wall for attacks targeting you only. You gain total cover for attacks that pass through this edge and no cover for attacks that do not pass through this edge (see Combat). The shield does not, however, provide cover against targeted spells; a spellcaster can cast a spell on you by targeting the shield you are holding. You cannot bash with a tower shield, nor can you use your shield hand for anything else.

When employing a tower shield in combat, you take a –2 penalty on attack rolls because of the shield's encumbrance.

The shield only provides cover for the person holding the shield, so it won't interfere with you targetting a square on the ground.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

A tower shield used for cover only affects the wielder. So it has no impact on your line of sight/effect, so you can cast any spell you normally could.


Ask your GM; you need line of sight to position the pit spell - if your GM says you have it then you can cast the spell, if he says otherwise then no.

In a Perfect Vacuum the ruling on the tower shield is it grants total cover for the wielder, partial cover for any creature directly behind him (the 5' square behind him), and does not grant a benefit to anyone else.

If you aren't getting the benefit, usually you shouldn't be taking a penalty.

There are plenty of exceptions to this however. Examples include using a tower shield in a narrow corridor, enlarging (or large to begin with) the person with a tower shield in front of you, or being a small or smaller character behind a medium or larger creature with a tower shield. Usually these things extend the benefit, hence limiting LoS.

So to reiterate, it's up to your GM.


You don't need line of sight for area spells, you can place them by either seeing the location or defining it.


RAW,if you aren't the one using the tower shield then you get no benefit or changes to your statistics. I don't see the part that grants partial cover to anyone standing behind the one using the tower shield (although I think it would be a very fair assumption and I would run it like that in a home game).

There are no RAW wording on blocking Line of Sight, so technically speaking it doesn't. To me though I would probably employ common sense and say that if the corridor is as narrow as the shield then yes you do indeed block Line of Sight with it, but otherwise you wouldn't.


Also, creatures don't typically physically take up the entire 5x5 they are standing in. They may "own" that space during combat, but you should still be able to see that 5x5 space in front of the tower shield wielder (if only partially) as they move around or hunker down to impose the shield between them and the bad guys. A tower shield is big, but mechanically it isn't that big.


Yes. The tower shield does not provide cover for anyone other than the person holding it. Allies can't even hide behind the person with the tower shield so enemies could not either.


Naysander Sune wrote:
If an ally ahead of me has taken full cover,can I cast a CREATE PIT spell past his tower shield to the opponent adjacent.

Yes, just remember that if you place the Pit so that it is adjacent to your ally, they have to make a Reflex save or fall in as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / tower shield. create pit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.