Drag combat maneuver questions


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

If you succeed on a Drag maneuver, does your movement provoke an attack of opportunity from your target?

Do you have to be adjacent to the target? If you have 10 feet or more natural reach or a reach weapon that lets you drag with it, how does drag work?

Drag text:
If your attack is successful, both you and your target are moved 5 feet back, with your opponent occupying your original space and you in the space behind that in a straight line.

If you are not adjacent to the target, you can either both move 5 feet or move your opponent into your old space, but not both.


The rules weren't written with reach in mind. There are a lot of places where the rules break down around reach. Take a look at the Unchained Monk's Foot Stamp and what happens if he has 15' reach or more (the enemy is held still and can't move anywhere, because no spaces they could move into are adjacent to the monk).

Playing strictly by RAW, the system breaks down into an error because the other guy only move 5' but still somehow occupies your old space. The most logical ways for strict RAW players to patch this is to either:
1) Disallow reach with the Drag maneuver--you must be adjacent to the enemy to drag them
2) Fill in the implied gap with a rule similar to the grapple rules where they are immediately pulled adjacent to you when you drag and then dragged from there.

However, I think the clear RAI is that you move 5' and they move 5', and the 10' between you is maintained the whole drag.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Drag combat maneuver questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions