Wielding a small weapon


Rules Questions


Just asking:

Can i wield a samll glaive in one hand? What will be the penalty?

Thanks!


And the main question: does a small glaive for this purposes have a reach?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Use the search feature to find other threads on this question, like this one or this one or this other one.

Sczarni

Every weapon has a size category. This designation indicates the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed.

A weapon's size category isn't the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon's size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder.

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.

So, a medium-sized Human wielding a small-sized Glaive in one hand would suffer a -2 penalty on their attack rolls.

To answer your question about reach, both a small-sized Halfling and a medium-sized Human wielding a Glaive may attack opponents 10ft away, so a medium-sized Human wielding a small-sized Glaive would have the same reach.

The only contentious issue I've seen come up before is if said Human then drinks a potion of Enlarge Person.

Normally, that should increase the Human's reach with a normal-sized Glaive to 20ft. But, had a Halfling drunk the potion, its reach would remain at 10ft. People differ on how the enlarging effect works on a creature wielding an inappropriately-sized reach weapon.


Get it, thank you! :)


Already posted in another related thread, but this one is more up to date...

What about Moss Trolls? (Reach 15 with claws...), do they literally have 5ft long claws, or would you give them a 30ft reach with an undersized spear?

Dark Archive

alexd1976 wrote:

Already posted in another related thread, but this one is more up to date...

What about Moss Trolls? (Reach 15 with claws...), do they literally have 5ft long claws, or would you give them a 30ft reach with an undersized spear?

It states that the extended reach is only with the claws - so it is only with the claws.

If they use a weapon, then it would be based on their more standard 10' reach as a starting point.

Nefreet wrote:


So, a medium-sized Human wielding a small-sized Glaive in one hand would suffer a -2 penalty on their attack rolls.

It's worth noting that the effort of the weapon 'improves' one step by using the small version - thus a small glaive wielded by a human would be a one-handed weapon. It would also of course do the 'small weapon' damage, so would be downgraded from 1d10 to 1d8.

If you stuck a light weapon in your other hand, you could two weapon fight with the benefit of reach in your main hand. :P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wielding a small weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions