| PapaZorro |
Maybe I'm slow on the uptake, but reading over the text of Dirty Trick Shaken is one of the conditions you can apply. Nowhere does it state this cannot stack with other Shaken conditions to Frighten. So if you were to say, have a level 1 Manuever Master Monk who uses Enforcer, as a full-round action could you punch a guy, Shake him via Enforcer, then Dirty Trick him to Shake him again, making him Frightened?
| Serisan |
Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.
Looks legit.
Richard D Bennett
|
That seems to work, it also seems awfully resource-intensive on a MAD class. Two feats (unless you want to brave the AoO for the Dirty Trick), and investing ranks, and probably a trait for trained, into Intimidate. Top it off with making CHA a consideration in a class that's so MAD, it's... well, mad.
So, yeah, it seems like you could do it. Question is: would you want to build towards that end?
| Rycaut |
as an alternative to Enforcer you could also take levels of Swashbuckler - at level 3 when you have at least one panche point you can intimidate as a swift action if you hit with a light or one-handed piercing weapon. Multiclassing with Maneuver Master monk may be a bit MAD but could be quite effective (and remember that if you don't invest in WIS you may be a better monk wearing armor than not wearing armor - and brawling light armor can be your friend...
(also worth noting that unlike a normal Flurry of Blows the maneuver master's Flurry of Maneuvers can actually be used with natural attacks as it doesn't have any restrictions there and you can do it wearing armor if you choose to)
| Serisan |
Just don't forget!
Dirty Trick wrote:The GM is the arbiter of what can be accomplished with this maneuver...
While that is true, it's referring to the fluff part of the action (pull down pants, sand in the eyes, etc.). The important part is that it does have a mechanical backbone:
The penalty is limited to one of the following conditions: blinded, dazzled, deafened, entangled, shaken, or sickened.
But, as stated in the fear status, they stack unless they say they don't.
| Serisan |
@Serisan
I am not sure how is "The GM is the arbiter of what can be accomplished with this maneuver..." a fluff text. Please elaborate. Pulling the pants down might not be possible in some conditions, for example, the opponent might not have any pants on.
Because that statement is in the context of making up effects. Full text of that paragraph:
You can attempt to hinder a foe in melee as a standard action. This maneuver covers any sort of situational attack that imposes a penalty on a foe for a short period of time. Examples include kicking sand into an opponent's face to blind him for 1 round, pulling down an enemy's pants to halve his speed, or hitting a foe in a sensitive spot to make him sickened for a round. The GM is the arbiter of what can be accomplished with this maneuver, but it cannot be used to impose a permanent penalty, and the results can be undone if the target spends a move action. If you do not have the Improved Dirty Trick feat or a similar ability, attempting a dirty trick provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.
That paragraph is to tell the player/GM that this is a catch-all maneuver for things not otherwise covered in the rules. The mechanical crunch of the ability is in the 2nd paragraph.
If your attack is successful, the target takes a penalty. The penalty is limited to one of the following conditions: blinded, dazzled, deafened, entangled, shaken, or sickened. This condition lasts for 1 round. For every 5 by which your attack exceeds your opponent's CMD, the penalty lasts 1 additional round. This penalty can usually be removed if the target spends a move action. If you possess the Greater Dirty Trick feat, the penalty lasts for 1d4 rounds, plus 1 round for every 5 by which your attack exceeds your opponent's CMD. In addition, removing the condition requires the target to spend a standard action.
| draxar |
In PFS the ruling is apparently no, you can never stack on a Demoralise shaken condition, the best you can do is extend it:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jsox&page=10?Pathfinder-Society-Rules-20-F AQ#491
But I don't know how much people apply the rulings from that to wider gaming. It's the only ruling I could find when googling to see if I could stack the Shaken from Frightful Presence atop Demoralise.
| GM Lamplighter |
graywulfe
|
In PFS the ruling is apparently no, you can never stack on a Demoralise shaken condition, the best you can do is extend it:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jsox&page=10?Pathfinder-Society-Rules-20-F AQ#491
But I don't know how much people apply the rulings from that to wider gaming. It's the only ruling I could find when googling to see if I could stack the Shaken from Frightful Presence atop Demoralise.
That is also a ruling from the infancy of the game, before Dirty Trick existed. Also Demoralize has specific language covering that it can not enhance a shaken state to frightened. So, I don't think that post applies in this case.
I am not saying it can be for sure. I am saying that one post does not actually relate completely to the question.
In my opinion yes they would stack to become frightened, as there is no language in dirty trick to restrict this stacking. I would rule that when the duration of the original demoralize runs out then the effect would return to being shaken.
| Rycaut |
actually that ruling is from 2009 and appears to have been changed in later editions.
see http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2rgbp?Intimidate-and-Fear-effects#1
the current PRD does NOT (it appears) read the way that D20pfsrd shows things. Confusing but that's the current case (because no errata document was published noting the removal of a previous errata - but the current edition doesn't have this language.
see this quote from the PRD:
Intimidate
(Cha)
You can use this skill to frighten an opponent or to get them to act in a way that benefits you. This skill includes verbal threats and displays of prowess.Check: You can use Intimidate to force an opponent to act friendly toward you for 1d6 × 10 minutes with a successful check. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + the target's Hit Dice + the target's Wisdom modifier. If successful, the target gives you the information you desire, takes actions that do not endanger it, or otherwise offers limited assistance. After the Intimidate expires, the target treats you as unfriendly and may report you to local authorities. If you fail this check by 5 or more, the target attempts to deceive you or otherwise hinder your activities.
Demoralize: You can use this skill to cause an opponent to become shaken for a number of rounds. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + the target's Hit Dice + the target's Wisdom modifier. If you are successful, the target is shaken for 1 round. This duration increases by 1 round for every 5 by which you beat the DC. You can only threaten an opponent in this way if they are within 30 feet and can clearly see and hear you. Using demoralize on the same creature only extends the duration; it does not create a stronger fear condition.
Action: Using Intimidate to change an opponent's attitude requires 1 minute of conversation. Demoralizing an opponent is a standard action.
Try Again: You can attempt to Intimidate an opponent again, but each additional check increases the DC by +5. This increase resets after 1 hour has passed.
Special: You also gain a +4 bonus on Intimidate checks if you are larger than your target and a –4 penalty on Intimidate checks if you are smaller than your target.
If you have the Persuasive feat, you get a bonus on Intimidate checks (see Feats).
A half-orc gets a +2 bonus on Intimidate checks.
and this from the Core rules glossary:
Fear
Spells, magic items, and certain monsters can affect characters with fear. In most cases, the character makes a Will saving throw to resist this effect, and a failed roll means that the character is shaken, frightened, or panicked.Shaken: Characters who are shaken take a –2 penalty on attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks.
Frightened: Characters who are frightened are shaken, and in addition they flee from the source of their fear as quickly as they can. They can choose the paths of their flight. Other than that stipulation, once they are out of sight (or hearing) of the source of their fear, they can act as they want. If the duration of their fear continues, however, characters can be forced to flee if the source of their fear presents itself again. Characters unable to flee can fight (though they are still shaken).
Panicked: Characters who are panicked are shaken, and they run away from the source of their fear as quickly as they can, dropping whatever they are holding. Other than running away from the source, their paths are random. They flee from all other dangers that confront them rather than facing those dangers. Once they are out of sight (or hearing) of any source of danger, they can act as they want. Panicked characters cower if they are prevented from fleeing.
Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative. A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.
| Serisan |
In PFS the ruling is apparently no, you can never stack on a Demoralise shaken condition, the best you can do is extend it:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jsox&page=10?Pathfinder-Society-Rules-20-F AQ#491
But I don't know how much people apply the rulings from that to wider gaming. It's the only ruling I could find when googling to see if I could stack the Shaken from Frightful Presence atop Demoralise.
Never trust Josh Frost, the man of Raging Skeletons. Morale bonus what?
| draxar |
OTOH, we have some text changes in the PRD and removal from errata versus someone actually saying "This is how it works." and no explicit "We changed or." statements thereafter. Thus, I'd lean towards the initial ruling.
(P.S. Thanks for the linkifying, Lamplighter, I'm on my phone so couldn't be arsed with hunting down the square brackets)
graywulfe
|
OTOH, we have some text changes in the PRD and removal from errata versus someone actually saying "This is how it works." and no explicit "We changed or." statements thereafter. Thus, I'd lean towards the initial ruling.
(P.S. Thanks for the linkifying, Lamplighter, I'm on my phone so couldn't be arsed with hunting down the square brackets)
And I reiterate that that ruling was specific in what it applied to and the Original question is not something that it applies to.
| TimD |
draxar wrote:Never trust Josh Frost, the man of Raging Skeletons. Morale bonus what?In PFS the ruling is apparently no, you can never stack on a Demoralise shaken condition, the best you can do is extend it:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jsox&page=10?Pathfinder-Society-Rules-20-F AQ#491
But I don't know how much people apply the rulings from that to wider gaming. It's the only ruling I could find when googling to see if I could stack the Shaken from Frightful Presence atop Demoralise.
To be fair, that mistake was repeated in Mummy's Mask (Empty Graves), as well...
-TimD
Malag
|
Because that statement is in the context of making up effects.
Again, you didn't explain how is "The GM is the arbiter of what can be accomplished with this maneuver..." a fluff text. Do the pants on the opponent magically return back? Does every opponent have eyes and ears? If I, as a GM tell you that he doesn't have any pants, are you saying that you can still pull his imaginary pants down because "it's a fluff text"?
Of course, I don't mean any disrespect to NPCs. Walking around without pants on will likely get them arrested sooner or later for public nudity.
| DrakeRoberts |
Serisan wrote:
Because that statement is in the context of making up effects.
Again, you didn't explain how is "The GM is the arbiter of what can be accomplished with this maneuver..." a fluff text. Do the pants on the opponent magically return back? Does every opponent have eyes and ears? If I, as a GM tell you that he doesn't have any pants, are you saying that you can still pull his imaginary pants down because "it's a fluff text"?
Of course, I don't mean any disrespect to NPCs. Walking around without pants on will likely get them arrested sooner or later for public nudity.
He didn't say that the "GM is the arbiter..." line was fluff text. He said that the arbitration was in what 'fluff' (description) could be validly used to explain the mechanical benefit. He's saying that a GM can't say "no you can't shaken this monster" (immunity to fear aside, of course), but rather that the GM can say "no, doing that wouldn't be good enough to shaken the monster, you need to try something else instead". Or similarly, the GM can say "that monster doesn't have pants, try again please". So yeah, the argument isn't that the GM can arbitrate is fluff, but rather that the thing he is arbitrating is on the validity of the chosen fluff.
Malag
|
@DrakeRoberts
The way I see it is this. You (a player) declare what and how you do it to NPC or monster. Then I (a GM) decide if what condition it gets. You don't get to choose condition. GM arbitrates it completely. In some cases, I might mention that such trick isn't possible (because NPC doesn't have any pants on), but that seems about it. This is why, there is no "fluff" in ability description. Every part of text is mechanical explanation.
| Serisan |
@DrakeRoberts
The way I see it is this. You (a player) declare what and how you do it to NPC or monster. Then I (a GM) decide if what condition it gets. You don't get to choose condition. GM arbitrates it completely. In some cases, I might mention that such trick isn't possible (because NPC doesn't have any pants on), but that seems about it. This is why, there is no "fluff" in ability description. Every part of text is mechanical explanation.
A player can very reasonably state what they're intending to do with the action, but yes, the GM can shoot you down on the pantsing if the target is wearing a onesie or something. Similarly, if something has no eyes (like a skeleton, perhaps) or too many eyes (like a gibbering mouther), you could say the "sand in the eyes" option will not work.
The GM should inform the player of this before allowing the player to take that action, though, unless it would be reasonable to require a knowledge check to know it first.