What is our definition of "Carrying"?


Rules Questions


Long story short:
A player wants to tie up a hexing doll on his net and throw it at his enemies so they get the -4 will penalty from the doll.

So i ask, what is pathfinder's definition of carrying something? Is it something on their possession, or simply anything that is dragged along with their movement? Such as arrows fired at them, things glued on them, or a net that was thrown at them, etc.


I think it would have to be just the first though i can see counting something glued on.

Grand Lodge

shadowkras wrote:

Long story short:

A player wants to tie up a hexing doll on his net and throw it at his enemies so they get the -4 will penalty from the doll.

So i ask, what is pathfinder's definition of carrying something? Is it something on their possession, or simply anything that is dragged along with their movement? Such as arrows fired at them, things glued on them, or a net that was thrown at them, etc.

It has to be something they are either carrying as part of their personal inventory, or stuffed in a backpack. Or you go old school, keep the doll in hand and get something personal from the person, the way such a doll is typically used in the trope.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I wouldn't allow them to simply put it in a net and throw the net on them to penalize them. They way to easy to do.

Carry means on "their person", in a backpack or pouch or in their hand all count. Tangled in a net the person happens to tangled in is not carrying.


I would let this work, actually. It makes sense and doesn't seem terribly overpowered. I might have the doll naturally fall off after a round, though (nets get shaken and torn naturally during a fight, and even if the doll remains attached to the net, it might end up dangling well away from the target after a round's thrashing).

I don't see the thematic problem. It's a different iteration of the trope, but one of the things that sometimes bugs me about witches is how rigid their flavor seems to be. This is an interesting interpretation that doesn't seem overpowered, so why not?

Grand Lodge

Kobold Cleaver wrote:

I would let this work, actually. It makes sense and doesn't seem terribly overpowered. I might have the doll naturally fall off after a round, though (nets get shaken and torn naturally during a fight, and even if the doll remains attached to the net, it might end up dangling well away from the target after a round's thrashing).

I don't see the thematic problem. It's a different iteration of the trope, but one of the things that sometimes bugs me about witches is how rigid their flavor seems to be. This is an interesting interpretation that doesn't seem overpowered, so why not?

I've yet to see anyone admit that an overpowered stunt is overpowered.

When it comes to rule changes, the burden of proof is on the Why crowd.

As to why not, I am very very cautious when giving casters any form of boost, especially one as powerful as the witch and her hexes.


Actually, the character is a hexblade magus, net adept (his nets are 10 ft reach weapons), which uses his net to debuff the target AC, grabs the net with his hair (hex) then proceeed to attack with his magical halberd.
If things get ugly, he can fly (hex) and throw the net from above.

I ruled that he cant use the secondary effect of the hexing doll because it clearly states that a witch must be using it that way.


Giving a -4 to saves against hexes is very potent. That's a 20% reduction in chance for them to save against the effect.

Liberty's Edge

What penalty are you giving to him for throwing a now unbalanced net?

Hexing Doll - Weight 1 lb.
Net - Weight 6 lb.

A 16,6% increase in the net weight, a fairly large object tied to the net (a 1 lb rag doll isn't small), unbalancing the net ...
-8?

Plus:

PRD wrote:
Net: A net is used to entangle enemies. When you throw a net, you make a ranged touch attack against your target. A net's maximum range is 10 feet. If you hit, the target is entangled. An entangled creature takes a –2 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty on Dexterity, can move at only half speed, and cannot charge or run. If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the entangled creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows. If the entangled creature attempts to cast a spell, it must make a concentration check with a DC of 15 + the spell's level or be unable to cast the spell.

a) If the PC is controlling the net trough the trailing rope, the net is in the PC possession, not the target.

b) entangled, not grappled. You aren't carrying the bush that a druid has targeted with entangle. It is similar for the net. It is hindering your movements, but it is not in your possession, it can be easily on the ground entangling your feet.

Edit:
c) "Net adept - Benefit: You can treat a net as a one-handed melee reach weapon with a 10-foot reach.". Yes, decidedly the PC is carrying teh net, not the target.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What is our definition of "Carrying"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions