
Claxon |

I'm not sure how you get a magical beast as an animal companion, but based on the blogposts I've seen no matter what you're always going to have to use handle animal to control them. At least, when you have an animal companion whose intelligence you raise to 3+ you are still required to use handle animal to control them.
Through what means are you acquiring a magical beast animal companion?

![]() |
I'm not sure how you get a magical beast as an animal companion, but based on the blogposts I've seen no matter what you're always going to have to use handle animal to control them. At least, when you have an animal companion whose intelligence you raise to 3+ you are still required to use handle animal to control them.
Through what means are you acquiring a magical beast animal companion?
Probably through either Monstrous Mount or through Celestial Servant.

Calth |
Celestial Servant and Primal Hunter both have language indicating that Handle Animal still applies.
As for Monstrous Mount, it says the creature follows the rules for animal companions, one of which is that Handle Animal applies. The skill even allows for that, as any non-intelligent (less than 3) creature can be handled with a +5 DC modifier. I don't know that I would apply that penalty due to the treat as animal companion language, but it exists.
So, except for the Griffon and Warg monstrous mounts, the answer is most definitely yes, handle animal applies.
For those two, the RAW is less clear, but I think the RAI is yes, handle animal applies since Paizo has clearly stated that no matter what, they want animal companions to be controlled through handle animal.