Feat question.


Rules Questions


Ok so in some of the feats Prerequisite(s) section we have a lay out that goes X, X; X

Now I was always told that the ; indicated a break in Prerequisite(s) allowing for more then one way to skin the cat as it were. So either you had the X, X or you had the X after the ; is that correct?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Example, please ?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Usually the semicolon separates MUST-HAVES from PICK-ONES.

So let's say a feat Foo has prereqs: X, Y; A, B, or C

That means a player needs X and Y and one of A, B, or C. So X Y A, X Y B, or X Y C

The other way you may see this is feat Bar which has prereqs: X, Y, or Z; A

This means you need A. You also need one of X Y or Z.

Essentially the semicolon is there to separate items grouped by an or from the rest of the list.

Liberty's Edge

Found one. I can see how it would look confusing compared to core feats.

Twin Thunders Flurry (Combat)

Your dual bludgeoning strikes are especially deadly when you are fighting giants.

Prerequisites: Dwarf or gnome; defensive training racial trait; Improved Two-Weapon Fighting and Two-Weapon Fighting, or flurry of blows class feature; Twin Thunders; Weapon Focus with both wielded weapons; base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: You can trip a creature with the giant subtype of up to Huge size, and you gain a +2 bonus on damage rolls against creatures of the giant subtype. Further, each time you hit a creature of the giant subtype with your off-hand weapon after you hit that creature with your primary weapon, you can deal the extra off-hand weapon damage Twin Thunders grants you.


so in that example the only piece that seems optional is the twf tree or flurry of blows otherwise you need everything else


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Shar Tahl wrote:

Found one. I can see how it would look confusing compared to core feats.

Twin Thunders Flurry (Combat)

Your dual bludgeoning strikes are especially deadly when you are fighting giants.

Prerequisites: Dwarf or gnome; defensive training racial trait; Improved Two-Weapon Fighting and Two-Weapon Fighting, or flurry of blows class feature; Twin Thunders; Weapon Focus with both wielded weapons; base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: You can trip a creature with the giant subtype of up to Huge size, and you gain a +2 bonus on damage rolls against creatures of the giant subtype. Further, each time you hit a creature of the giant subtype with your off-hand weapon after you hit that creature with your primary weapon, you can deal the extra off-hand weapon damage Twin Thunders grants you.

So in this case you would need

Dwarf or Gnome
AND
Defensive Training Racial trait
AND
(Imp Two-Weapon Fighting and Two-Weapon Fighting) OR Flurry of Blows
AND
Twin thunders
AND
Weapon Focus x2
AND
BAB +6


The semicolons are what makes this seem confusing. Something that isn't taught well (or at all) in schools is how the semicolon can be used as a separator like a comma. Use a semicolon between items in a list or series if any of the items contain commas.

Xethik did a great job of breaking it down.


Xethik wrote:

So in this case you would need

Dwarf or Gnome
AND
Defensive Training Racial trait
AND
(Imp Two-Weapon Fighting and Two-Weapon Fighting) OR Flurry of Blows
AND
Twin thunders
AND
Weapon Focus x2
AND
BAB +6

This is correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Feat question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions