Two Handed Weapons used in One Hand.


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Could someone remind me how this works, without any special feats? Is the weapon just treated like a weapon of an inappropriate size category? Take using a greatsword in one hand as an example.

Grand Lodge

If you have an ability that allows you to wield a two-handed weapon in one hand, then it still counts a two-handed weapon. Like a Lance.

If you have an ability to wield a two-handed weapon as an one-handed weapon, then you treat it as an one-handed weapon.


And if you neither ability?????


More importantly, you cannot use a two handed weapon (sized for you) in one hand without a special ability. If that's what your original question is asking.

Technically you can wield a two-handed weapon sized for a size category smaller than you in one hand, but you take the penalty for inappropriately sized weapons.


Then you cant wield a two-handed weapon in one hand.

Edit: Ninja'd. Just to add on to Claxon as well for clarity, when you wield a small 2-hander in one-hand, you also only get one-handed bonuses from strength and power attack.


Just cruised the rules and didn't find anything explicit about using a two-handed weapon in one hand. So RAW back Claxon.

Could you use a two-handed weapon as an improvised one-handed weapon?


therealthom wrote:
And if you neither ability?????

Then you can not use a two-handed weapon in one hand.

Grand Lodge

therealthom wrote:

Just cruised the rules and didn't find anything explicit about using a two-handed weapon in one hand. So RAW back Claxon.

Could you use a two-handed weapon as an improvised one-handed weapon?

No.


therealthom, here you go:

CRB p144 wrote:

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn’t proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder’s size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon’s designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can’t wield the weapon at all.


You may HOLD a Two-Handed Weapon in one hand.

But you cannot WIELD it in combat as such because it's imbalanced, regardless of weight, in just one hand. At least not without a special ability, that is.


Thanks, Gauss. I kind of glossed over that on my first reading.

Silver Crusade

One way to wield a two-handed weapon in one hand is to take three levels of Phalanx Fighter. You must wield a shield in the other hand. This allows you to wield a two handed reach weapon, yet also switch between defensive shield & polearm mode and offensive two-handed-polearm mode as tactical circumstances dictate.


And armor spikes! Gotta love the Phalanx Fighter.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two Handed Weapons used in One Hand. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.