Is this combo valid?


Advice


Since I got a little feedback on it, I wanted to doublecheck if this is something I could do.

At start of round, I am wielding a Ranseur (Reach weapon) that I am using for AoOs. Someone has stepped into adjacent of me and attacked me in the previous round.

To retaliate, I take my right hand off my weapon (Free action), and punch him in the face with my fist as a standard action.

This fist is currently covered by a spiked gauntlet & said gauntlet has spellstoring. In addition I am a cleric of the madness domain at level 10.

Upon striking the enemy with the punch, I unleash the domain power 'Voices of Madness' via domain strike as a swift action, selecting 'skills' and lowering their saves & attack by 5 while increasing all skills by 5. Then, as a free action I release blindness and/or bestow curse that was stored inside of the gauntlet. Then I put my hand back on the Ranseur and take a five foot step back.

Is this a legitimate combo?


Sounds like it, changing hands on your weapon is a free action so at the very least release, punch, grab, and 5ft back is legit.

I have no idea about the Domain/Spellstoring thing though since I dom't play clerics.


Seems legit to me. Make sure there is no more than one swift action a round and releasing grip and regripping something is a free action I believe.

Grand Lodge

Almost. A spiked gauntlet is an armed attack. If you were using an unarmed attack then it would be a legit combo. But since it's armed you can't use Domain Strike with it.

Also this belongs in the rules forum, not the advice forum.


Sweet, in addition I believe I can enchant both gauntlets separately with spell-storing & use either when making the punch correct?

Unleashing a stored spell is a free action, domain strike is a swift action. Voices of madness might have my DM banning it from being used with domain strike however.


claudekennilol wrote:

Almost. A spiked gauntlet is an armed attack. If you were using an unarmed attack then it would be a legit combo. But since it's armed you can't use Domain Strike with it.

Also this belongs in the rules forum, not the advice forum.

I remember reading up some debates on it, the spiked gauntlet is considered an armed attack just like having improved unarmed strike is considered an armed attack. However it is still considered an 'unarmed strike' for purposes of feats and everything else. But since its not using a monk weapon or close quarters weapon it can't be used with flurry of blows or brawler's flurry. In addition it'd be separate from other unarmed strike buffing enchantments (Amulet of mighty blows.)

If it turns out that I am incorrect in this, could I do the same combo utilizing a regular gauntlet that has been enchanted with spellstoring?

Edit: Oops, sorry about the wrong forum. I didn't even see that as one of the forums to choose from so I thought it might be something of advice.


Its cool.

If you can't use a Gauntlet there is a fair chance a Cestus might work by the way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Is this combo valid? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.