actions while mounted?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

If my mount moves then I can't take a full-attack (except without mounted skirmisher). But can I make other full round actions, like a coup de gras, or a full-round spell? Can I use a move action to draw a weapon before attacking, or some other move equivalent?


you are able to make move equivalent actions.

Grand Lodge

Chess Pwn wrote:
you are able to make move equivalent actions.

and still attack?


claudekennilol, your initial premise is what is causing your confusion.

There is no rule stating that you cannot take a full-attack while mounted if your mount moves more than 5 feet.

There IS a rule stating that you cannot perform more than one MELEE attack while mounted moves more than 5 feet.

CRB p202 wrote:
When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack.Even at your mount’s full speed, you don’t take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

This has no bearing on your action economy. In fact, it isn't that it is limiting full-attack actions specifically. It limits ANY sort of multiple-melee attack option. This would include standard action options such as Cleave.

So yes, you may perform any action or combination of actions you can normally perform while mounted (barring some other rule saying otherwise). However, you can only make one melee attack.

Grand Lodge

Gauss wrote:

claudekennilol, your initial premise is what is causing your confusion.

There is no rule stating that you cannot take a full-attack while mounted if your mount moves more than 5 feet.

There IS a rule stating that you cannot perform more than one MELEE attack while mounted moves more than 5 feet.

CRB p202 wrote:
When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack.Even at your mount’s full speed, you don’t take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

This has no bearing on your action economy. In fact, it isn't that it is limiting full-attack actions specifically. It limits ANY sort of multiple-melee attack option. This would include standard action options such as Cleave.

So yes, you may perform any action or combination of actions you can normally perform while mounted (barring some other rule saying otherwise). However, you can only make one melee attack.

Thanks, that's what I thought it said, but I wanted to be sure since I've never interacted with the mounted rules much before.


Gauss wrote:

claudekennilol, your initial premise is what is causing your confusion.

There is no rule stating that you cannot take a full-attack while mounted if your mount moves more than 5 feet.

There IS a rule stating that you cannot perform more than one MELEE attack while mounted moves more than 5 feet.

CRB p202 wrote:
When you attack a creature smaller than your mount that is on foot, you get the +1 bonus on melee attacks for being on higher ground. If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack.Even at your mount’s full speed, you don’t take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

This has no bearing on your action economy. In fact, it isn't that it is limiting full-attack actions specifically. It limits ANY sort of multiple-melee attack option. This would include standard action options such as Cleave.

So yes, you may perform any action or combination of actions you can normally perform while mounted (barring some other rule saying otherwise). However, you can only make one melee attack.

UMD: Wand of necromancy...this thread.

Anyways, you seriously can't cleave at then end of a mounts movement?

You can coup de Gras at then end of the mounts movement(more than 5 feet) charge or not?

Both the above seem wrong in that it says you "Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack.Even at your mount’s full speed" well at least in spirit I think they are wrong.

In the first instance the cleave is essentially one action. Normally(with the cleave feat) you can move and make a cleave attack which means multiple attacks you could not otherwise do without the cleave feat. Normally you have to wait until you walk there before attacking so you get only one attack...except when cleaving.

In the second case well you're still waiting so why do you get a full round action if you can't make a full attack? I get still having a move action as you could have done it while your mount moves. Granted if you do it(move action) much later in the initiative it could make for an odd continuity.

Do you really get a +1 to attack when mouted against creatures smaller than your mount? You're not really on higher ground.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks. :)

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't think there is a clear RAW answer, it mostly depends on the GM interpretation.

I wouldn't allow a Coup de Grace (Gras is fat, Grace is Mercy) after moving on a horse as I feel that you spend most of your turn lining the right shot to kill the target, and doing that on a moving horse is hard.
Note that when using a bow or crossbow to perform a CdG you need to be adjacent to the target. You can't aim the right spot from a distance.

Cleave: it can be used after moving, so I don't see why it wouldn't be possible to use it after moving on a horse. I will allow it.

Lemartes wrote:


Do you really get a +1 to attack when mouted against creatures smaller than your mount? You're not really on higher ground.

RAW? Yes.

RAI? I would say Yes again. Even if you are a halfling and your mount is a medium dog, if you are fighting a goblin you are in an advantageous position. It is not only that you are higher, but you are benefitting from your mount momentum too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / actions while mounted? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions