Ring of Spell Storing + spells with target "you"


Rules Questions


So, here's the problem - AFAIK you can't cast personal spells on anything exept yourself. Since caster must put spells into the ring I assume that spells should have chance to target anything . Is that correct or RoSS is intended as expection to these rules?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The theory is the ring overrides the target restrictions on (all) spells when it states: A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than 5. Otherwise a great many spells would not be allowed into the ring.

Most probably consider putting a spell into the ring about like putting the spell on a scoll. With the difference between the time it takes and that anyone can trigger the ring given a command word instead of a successful UMD check.


Yes, this works. The drawback is you need to have a spellcaster cast the spell into your ring for you. You cannot just use an item and keep buying them. You either have to buy spell casting services (which you wont have access to every day) or have an ally do the casting for you. Which uses up their spell slots each day to do so. Although you can get the first day "free" if you have a day of free time before you go adventuring or between adventures. But the spellcaster isn't going to want to give up their spell slots every day just to buff you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ring of Spell Storing + spells with target "you" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions