Hold 2 Weapons with one hand / Draw & Throw with the other


Rules Questions


If you are fighting with 2 weapons, can you temporarelly hold the 2 weapons with the same hand, unabling you to use any of them or that hand, while you use your free arm to draw a thrown weapon and throw it? After the attacks, can change grips as a free action and regrab your weapons back, one on each hand?

I think you can, like you can do with a 2h weapon. If you decide to let go one hand of the 2h weapon to draw and throw throwing knives, at the end of your turn you can still change grips and hold your 2h weapon with 2 hands. Here is the FAQ link for this.

So, it's the same thing for 2 weapons or a 2h weapon? As long as you are holding 2 weapons with one hand or a 2h weapon with one hand, you can't use those weapons, but changing these grips back is basically a free action on your turn?


Grab two swords...now hold them both in one hand....if you have not sliced off one of your limbs your doing it wrong.

Scarab Sages

You can hold any number of weapons in a hand, provided you have means to carry them all. Holding them is different from wielding them.


Although I believe moving a weapon from one hand to your other (full) hand would be a move action, not a free action.

Scarab Sages

Kchaka wrote:

If you are fighting with 2 weapons, can you temporarelly hold the 2 weapons with the same hand, unabling you to use any of them or that hand, while you use your free arm to draw a thrown weapon and throw it? After the attacks, can change grips as a free action and regrab your weapons back, one on each hand?

I think you can, like you can do with a 2h weapon. If you decide to let go one hand of the 2h weapon to draw and throw throwing knives, at the end of your turn you can still change grips and hold your 2h weapon with 2 hands. Here is the FAQ link for this.

So, it's the same thing for 2 weapons or a 2h weapon? As long as you are holding 2 weapons with one hand or a 2h weapon with one hand, you can't use those weapons, but changing these grips back is basically a free action on your turn?

You're confusing wielding and holding. You can only wield two weapons (or 1 two handed weapon). You can hold anything you want, subject to physical limitations (DM's call).

Now as to your situation, I'm confused how this one works. As I see it, you mean to make a standard action with each of two weapons, then draw a third weapon and make a third standard action? Answer is no. This is not something that two weapon fighting does. With BAB +6, you could probably do this as part of a full-attack at -5 for the thrown weapon.

That said, you could wield two weapons, use one in melee and throw the other, then draw a replacement for the thrown weapon and you'd finish the turn with 2 wielded weapons. Pretty sure you can do this.

It is noted that DM is allowed to limit the number of free actions a player is able to preform per turn.

I'll also note that I don't think drawning weapons is a free action. I think it's a free action only when part of a move or charge action.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

First... The answer to the titles is No... just no.

To clarify, holding more than one weapon in a hand is straining, both to that hand and to the rules. I would say that only weapons that are small enough for the hand to effect the holding of them would this be possible. That would be something like Darts, arrows, needles, shirukin and such.

Using them and throwing another weapon as a part of your TWF attacks, I don't see that happening to a normal character build. (There is a juggler class/archtype that is in a newer book)

Switching weapons from one hand to another is a free action, and I have a character that holds a Two Handed weapon in one hand while using another item in the other. (One handed weapon, potion, wand, sneezing power, whatever)

There is a feat that changes the action needed to draw a weapon. It isn't a free action, but a part of the move action to draw when the character has a BAB of +1 or more.

In My Humble Opinion.


havoc xiii wrote:
Grab two swords...now hold them both in one hand....if you have not sliced off one of your limbs your doing it wrong.

Depends, if you are using a gauntlet you probably won't slice yourself, as long as you are just holding them and not trying to use/wield them, like a sack of potatos or a 2h weapon in one hand. Also, something like this could depend on the weapon. As it's been said, holding 2 swords without a gauntlet would seem complicated, but two axes or other two shafted weapons would seem something more conceivable. Since there are many many different weapons, it will depend then on the player's explanation of how he's able to hold the weapons, specially if they are flaming.

Just to be clear, I'm not suggesting to use/wield the two weapons with one hand, the idea is just to hold them, like you do with your celphone and briefcase/bag when you are using your other hand to get your car/home keys, it's just something "faster" then setting your briefcase/bag on the ground or putting your celphone back on your pocket to free your hand.

Now, let's not start a discussion of "how fast can you draw/"sheath" your celphone" or how fast is it compared to a weapon, because that would just be silly. The idea behind the celphone/bag/keys analogy is that switching these grips would be faster (free action) than drawing or at least just as fast, but most probably faster than sheathing the weapon. The whole Idea is the same of puting your sword between your teeth to free your hand, which seems to work for pirates and smachbuckelers, but could be troublesome for Ogres with greatclubs.


I believe the point of the question is about a full round of attacks using quickdraw.

The answer is yes. If you ignore that he's holding 2 weapons in one had for a split second it makes more sense. Assuming a BAB of +6/1 he hits with main hand, sheaths main hand, draws a knife and throws it, draws main hand, attacks with off hand.

As long as there are only 2 iterative attacks plus one more for 2-weapon fighting you may sheath and draw as many times as you want because free actions are free.


Even with quickdraw sheathing is a move action. Also trying to hold two swords or axes the hilt/handle is to wide for one hand thats why I said you'd slice a limb off dropping a sword or axe while trying to hold them in one hand could be painful.


I'm sorry, maybe I wasn't clear enough, when I said "If you are fighting with two weapons" I ment the character's regular routine/build. At the moment, there will be no sheating or fighting with 2 weapons taking place.

For example, picture a Lv.6 Dwarf Fighter with BAB +6 using a dwarven waraxe on each hand, beeing attacked by a flying enemy.

On his turn, he can't attack the flying enemy with his melee attacks, so as a free action he holds both of his waraxes with one hand, the same thing of holding a 2h weapon with one hand, a dead gnome or a bunch of groceries, just use your imagination.

I don't think the weight is a big issue, since you can fight with a heavy shield on one arm and attack with he other with no problems.

Now, with one hand free, if he doesn't have quick draw, he can use a move action to draw a ranged weapon and attack once with his Standard. If he does have quick draw, he can then draw throwing knives as free actions and use his full attack to throw twice.

At the end of his turn, he uses another free action to grab and wield both waraxes again, one on each hand.

During his turn, his ranged attacks would have provoked attacks os opportunity normally, and he would not have been able to use the waraxes counter attack, since at the moment they were just something he was carrying, like a 2h weapon in one hand.

I don't know if there are any specific rules for what action it is to grab something else with your hand while are fighting and already holding something with it, or what action is it to put a sword between your teeth or under the arm (between your legs should certantly leave you flat-footed or worse), but it seems something rather simple and doable considering a fantasy RPG.

Mechanically, I find this to work exactly like it does with a 2h weapon. I see no reason why it shouldn't, and if it doesn't, it will be giving 2h builds an unnecessary advantage over TWF builds. Some diferences are unavoidable, but this doesn't need to be one of them.

Scarab Sages

Kchaka wrote:

I'm sorry, maybe I wasn't clear enough, when I said "If you are fighting with two weapons" I ment the character's regular routine/build. At the moment, there will be no sheating or fighting with 2 weapons taking place.

For example, picture a Lv.6 Dwarf Fighter with BAB +6 using a dwarven waraxe on each hand, beeing attacked by a flying enemy.

On his turn, he can't attack the flying enemy with his melee attacks, so as a free action he holds both of his waraxes with one hand, the same thing of holding a 2h weapon with one hand, a dead gnome or a bunch of groceries, just use your imagination.

I don't think the weight is a big issue, since you can fight with a heavy shield on one arm and attack with he other with no problems.

Now, with one hand free, if he doesn't have quick draw, he can use a move action to draw a ranged weapon and attack once with his Standard. If he does have quick draw, he can then draw throwing knives as free actions and use his full attack to throw twice.

At the end of his turn, he uses another free action to grab and wield both waraxes again, one on each hand.

During his turn, his ranged attacks would have provoked attacks os opportunity normally, and he would not have been able to use the waraxes counter attack, since at the moment they were just something he was carrying, like a 2h weapon in one hand.

I don't know if there are any specific rules for what action it is to grab something else with your hand while are fighting and already holding something with it, or what action is it to put a sword between your teeth or under the arm (between your legs should certantly leave you flat-footed or worse), but it seems something rather simple and doable considering a fantasy RPG.

Mechanically, I find this to work exactly like it does with a 2h weapon. I see no reason why it shouldn't, and if it doesn't, it will be giving 2h builds an unnecessary advantage over TWF builds. Some diferences are unavoidable, but this doesn't need to be one of them.

Looks legit.

Two things to keep in mind.

DM is allowed to limit free actions. There isn't any official limit, but there is an official ability for the DM to limit free actions.

While you hold two weapons in one hand, neither are being wielded. Your groceries is a solid example of holding two weapons in one hand. It shouldn't matter most of the time, but occasionally, opponent's may have the ability to interrupt your actions during your turn.

As for the naysayers of holding multiple weapons with less hands than weapons, remember that you can carry a bundle of spears or a box of swords - this is holding the weapon, not wielding them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hold 2 Weapons with one hand / Draw & Throw with the other All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions