Damaging Magic Items


Rules Questions


I was reading the section on damaging magic items and have a question. It states "A magic item doesn’t need to make a saving throw unless it
is unattended, it is specifically targeted by the effect, or its
wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save."

Let's say the party has a fireball thrown at them and the DC is 17. What if there Save is 16, meaning they only need to roll a 1 to save.

They save against the fireball and take half damage, but since they rolled a 1 does this mean their Magic items still need to make a saving throw?

So if the wielder is wearing a Cloak of Elevenkind, Boots of Levitation, and a Long Sword +2. Does each item need to make a save?

Shadow Lodge

Rolling a 1 always fails the saving throw. The character takes full damage.

Only one item is in danger of damage, however. From the Equipment section:

Damaging Objects wrote:

Attended (Held/Wielded etc.) Items: Unless the descriptive text for a spell (or attack) specifies otherwise, all items carried or worn by a creature are assumed to survive a magical attack. If a creature rolls a natural 1 on its saving throw against the effect, however, an exposed item is harmed (if the attack can harm objects). Refer to Table: Items Affected by Magical Attacks to determine order in which items are affected. Determine which four objects carried or worn by the creature are most likely to be affected and roll randomly among them. The randomly determined item must make a saving throw against the attack form and take whatever damage the attack dealt. If the selected item is not carried or worn and is not magical, it does not get a saving throw. It simply is dealt the appropriate damage.

Table: Items Affected by Magical Attacks
Order* Item
1st Shield
2nd Armor
3rd Magic helmet, hat, or headband
4th Item in hand (including weapon, wand, or the like)
5th Magic cloak
6th Stowed or sheathed weapon
7th Magic bracers
8th Magic clothing
9th Magic jewelry (including rings)
10th Anything else

So in your example you would roll randomly between the cloak, boots, and longsword. The item you select by rolling makes a saving throw against the fireball and takes full or half damage as appropriate.

If the character also had a magic shield and ring, the shield should be included in the roll but the ring would not because it's too far down the list of items likely to be affected.


What Weirdo said.
A natural 1 on a save, attack roll and CMB check is an automatic failure, unless you have an ability that says otherwise (don't even know if that exists).
A natural 20 on a save, attack roll and CMB check is an automatic success.

Grand Lodge

Lifat wrote:

What Weirdo said.

A natural 1 on a save, attack roll and CMB check is an automatic failure, unless you have an ability that says otherwise (don't even know if that exists).
A natural 20 on a save, attack roll and CMB check is an automatic success.

It exists for attack rolls, but it's Mythic only. I don't think there's one for saves.


What about monk's who say they take only 1/2 damage or no damage due to evasion? They still make a roll correct and if a 1 they take Full Damae right?

Grand Lodge

joep wrote:
What about monk's who say they take only 1/2 damage or no damage due to evasion? They still make a roll correct and if a 1 they take Full Damae right?

No.

If they fail the save, and they have Evasion, they take half damage. If they fail the save with a 1 on the die, their items, what few they have, would be subject to the potential issue as anyone else's items.

If they make the save, they take no damage, just like any other person who has Evasion, either as a class ability (e.g. Rogue) or from a magic item (e.g. Ring of Evasion).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damaging Magic Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions