Agile maneuvers question


Advice


One of my players is playing a swashbuckler and is planning his future feats. He wants to take the Dirty Trick and Disarm feat chains, but he asked if he needed Agile Maneuvers in order to apply his dex to his CMB for these actions. I wasn't 100% sure, as I thought I read somewhere that it already applies do to it being part of an attack, but I decided I would ask the almighty forums before giving him an answer just to be safe.


Certain combat maneuvers can be applied through weapons, gaining bonuses such as weapon focus, or the enhancement bonus on the weapon. They include trips, disarm, and one other. However, it isnt Dirty Trick.


As long as he's disarming using a weapon he can finesse, he doesn't need Agile Maneuvers.

For Dirty Trick, he would need Agile Maneuvers, unless you rule he can perform the dirty trick with his weapon.

Also, this should probably be in the Rules forum.


RumpinRufus wrote:

As long as he's disarming using a weapon he can finesse, he doesn't need Agile Maneuvers.

For Dirty Trick, he would need Agile Maneuvers, unless you rule he can perform the dirty trick with his weapon.

Also, this should probably be in the Rules forum.

ah, my mistake

Grand Lodge

The finesse able maneuvers are Trip(including Drag and Reposition), Disarm and Sunder. Arguably, grapple too, but that has not been officially ruled, so that is your choice.

Dirty Trick is not Finesse able, so they will need agile maneuvers for it.


I believe Drag and Reposition are only weapon-based (and thus finesse-able) if you are using a weapon with the trip feature.
One of the few things the feature actually does, and literally the only thing it does for Sweeper Kobold Tail Attachments.

Also, if I remember correctly, there's a paizo blog post somewhere saying that any maneuver can potentially be weapon-based if the GM decides to rule that it is reasonably being made using that weapon.

But yeah, the default rule is that weapon finesse and the like only work for Trip/Disarm/Sunder.


Quote:
I believe Drag and Reposition are only weapon-based (and thus finesse-able) if you are using a weapon with the trip feature.

This is false. FAQ


Unless I'm missing something, that FAQ only applies to trip combat maneuvers, to which you can add bonuses from any weapon.

But for drag and reposition maneuvers, the statement from the blog post that FAQ is based on would apply:
"There is a special exception to the above rules. If you’re using a weapon with the trip special feature, and you’re attempting a drag or reposition combat maneuver (Advanced Player’s Guide 321–322), you may apply the weapon’s bonuses to the roll because trip weapons are also suitable for dragging and repositioning (this also means we don’t have to add “drag” and “reposition” weapon properties to existing weapons)."

If not for that exception, you couldn't get weapon bonuses to drag and reposition at all, because they are different from trip and normally not usable with a weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Agile maneuvers question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.