Question about outsiders


Rules Questions


This is going to come up shortly and I'd like some input about it.
As I recall, outsiders that are slain while on a plane other than their native one are banished back to their home plane. But I don't see reference to this in the Paizo book.
I ask because the upcoming "boss battle" is going to be with a high level night hag. She's got a fortress in the Abyss as her home base. The Abyss is not a night hag's home plane, so if they fight her and kill her, does this banish her back to her home plane, or kill her? If it banishes her, it makes actually defeating her much more difficult, because once they beat her the first time, they have to quickly move to her home plane and finish her off before she can move on to some other location (they have the means, but it means fighting her a second time and finding out where she will appear in her home plane when banished ahead of time). And they're liable to be exhausted from fighting her just in the abyss, because they'll have to go through her strongest minions first to get to her.

So, how does it work. I need to know because that determines how the players need to prepare and it's something the players would find out because they always find out what they can before they go into battle.


RJ Dalton 89 wrote:

This is going to come up shortly and I'd like some input about it.

As I recall, outsiders that are slain while on a plane other than their native one are banished back to their home plane. But I don't see reference to this in the Paizo book.

As I recall this was the case in 1e/2e AD&D but I don't believe it is so in PF.


andreww wrote:
RJ Dalton 89 wrote:

This is going to come up shortly and I'd like some input about it.

As I recall, outsiders that are slain while on a plane other than their native one are banished back to their home plane. But I don't see reference to this in the Paizo book.
As I recall this was the case in 1e/2e AD&D but I don't believe it is so in PF.

Yeah, I don't think it works this way anymore either.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Valantrix1 wrote:
andreww wrote:
RJ Dalton 89 wrote:

This is going to come up shortly and I'd like some input about it.

As I recall, outsiders that are slain while on a plane other than their native one are banished back to their home plane. But I don't see reference to this in the Paizo book.
As I recall this was the case in 1e/2e AD&D but I don't believe it is so in PF.
Yeah, I don't think it works this way anymore either.

That's correct. assuming we're not talking about Summoned Outsiders.

Called Outsiders can die for good on the material or any other plane.

Sczarni

As advice for achieving the same effect, the Hag could have a Contingency in effect that Plane Shifts her back home.

And, since you're the GM, and this is part of the story at large, that Contingency can trigger whenever you want it to ;-)


Thanks. That at least simplifies things on my end some.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about outsiders All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.