Does a pc thats swimming still get a full attack action ?


Rules Questions


Reading alot of different variations on this. Wouldn't the pc have to actively swim, while fighting 1-handed? How can a person swim as a move action, and still get all of their attacks in 1 round ?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

If you swim as a move action, that only leaves you a standard action to attack with, so you'd only get one attack.

If you're not surfacing to fight, see also the Aquatic Terrain rules for the differing effects based on the type of weapon you're using.

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

But, if your able to maintain your position without using a move action, you may full attack.


appreciate it guys. thanks


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You have to make Swim checks each turn, but it costs no action unless you decide to move.

Swim

Make a Swim check once per round while you are in the water. Success means you may swim at up to half your speed (as a full-round action) or at a quarter of your speed (as a move action). If you fail by 4 or less, you make no progress. If you fail by 5 or more, you go underwater.

So if you don't move voluntarily and don't fail your Swim check, you have no problem making a full attack. Even with a two-handed weapon, you can still use your feet to keep a certain position in water. (See Water-polo players when they rise from the water using only their feet)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a pc thats swimming still get a full attack action ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions