Two-hander and claw


Rules Questions


Player wants to swing his great sword, take hand off sword as free action, claw foe, switch hands, claw foe.

Is there an errata or faq that explicitly disallows this?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

No need, there's the rules for natural weapons that disallows this:

Quote:
Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam).


I wonder what the question was that produced the answer above. Based on what the question was, it may or may not answers the OP question.

Grand Lodge

Driver_325yards wrote:
I wonder what the question was that produced the answer above. Based on what the question was, it may or may not answers the OP question.

He asked if there was an FAQ or Errata that disallowed a player from using a greatsword, then taking his claw attacks. I responded saying that there was no need for a FAQ or Errata, because the rules already say that he can't do that.


Jeff Merola wrote:
Driver_325yards wrote:
I wonder what the question was that produced the answer above. Based on what the question was, it may or may not answers the OP question.
He asked if there was an FAQ or Errata that disallowed a player from using a greatsword, then taking his claw attacks. I responded saying that there was no need for a FAQ or Errata, because the rules already say that he can't do that.

I guess that all I am saying is that there is no weapon clutched in your hands if you drop the weapon or switch hands with the weapon. Yes, I can see how you can interpret the language you cited to reach the conclusion that you can't do what the OP asked. That said, the quoted language, to me, is not directly on point.


I kind of want some clarification on this, too. The "although often" seems like it's saying it's up to the GM's discretion, which is a pretty vague statement.

Also, does the situation change if the character is wielding a one handed sword two-handed, removes a hand as a free action, and then claws? Switching hands might be more than a free action, but I can't really see removing a hand being very taxing.

I'm guessing this is coming up as a result of Lesser Beast Totem or something similar? I ran into this problem with a barbarian I ran for two or three sessions and my GM just said I could make the attacks anyway, but I do want to know what the official stance on this is.

Grand Lodge

Great sword needs 2 hands, thus the player can only get his 2 claw attacks if he has 4 limbs.

The FAQ Jeff Quoted covers this.

Grand Lodge

Driver_325yards wrote:
Jeff Merola wrote:
Driver_325yards wrote:
I wonder what the question was that produced the answer above. Based on what the question was, it may or may not answers the OP question.
He asked if there was an FAQ or Errata that disallowed a player from using a greatsword, then taking his claw attacks. I responded saying that there was no need for a FAQ or Errata, because the rules already say that he can't do that.

I guess that all I am saying is that there is no weapon clutched in your hands if you drop the weapon or switch hands with the weapon. Yes, I can see how you can interpret the language you cited to reach the conclusion that you can't do what the OP asked. That said, the quoted language, to me, is not directly on point.

Then there's a difference between saying "I don't agree with your conclusion" and "You're answering a question other than what the OP asked."

For further supporting information, there's the following line from a FAQ on the Synthesist (although the official line is that FAQs do only what they say they do, so I guess you could try to argue that this only applies to Synthesists):
The FAQ

Quote:
If the synthesist wants to use his eidolon's natural attacks and use his own manufactured weapons or natural weapons in the same round, his eidolon needs to have enough limbs to account for all of these attacks. For example, a gnome synthesist fused with a two-armed biped eidolon has two arms it can use to make attacks; if the synthesist wants to make claw attacks with his eidolon's claws and also make weapon attacks (such as with a dagger or staff), he needs to give his eidolon additional arms evolutions to hold those weapons (as an extension of the summoner's own limbs)--a two-armed eidolon can't make two claw attacks and also make a dagger attack or staff attack in the same round.
Dafydd wrote:

Great sword needs 2 hands, thus the player can only get his 2 claw attacks if he has 4 limbs.

The FAQ Jeff Quoted covers this.

I quoted the rules on Natural Attacks, actually. I only just quoted a FAQ :P

Sczarni

Everything that Jeff Merola said.


Jeff Merola is correct in his statements.

The player cannot attack with a greatsword and then in the same round attack with natural attacks that use those limbs. He could make a bite attack if he had one. Or a gore, of a hoof, if he had any of those. But he can't use his arms to make other attacks than the greatsword.

Sczarni

Claxon wrote:

Jeff Merola is correct in his statements.

The player cannot attack with a greatsword and then in the same round attack with natural attacks that use those limbs. He could make a bite attack if he had one. Or a gore, of a hoof, if he had any of those. But he can't use his arms to make other attacks than the greatsword.

this is all correct. It has nothing to do with free actions, grip shifting, or anything else... The limbs that have the claws have been used to swing the sword and are therefore not eligible to be used again that round.

Grand Lodge

You simply cannot use the same limb to attack with a manufactured weapon, and a natural attack that uses said limb.

All the relevant rules have been shown that support this.


Thanks, guys. I already knew you couldn't use a limb for both manufactured and natural weapons in the same round, I just couldn't find a source.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two-hander and claw All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions