Headband and Head slot, Do they Stack?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have had several heated discussions with other local DM's regarding these two slots in Pathfinder.

Some of them have said "oh yeah, they totally can stack"

I am on the footing opposite this, in that the two slots shouldn't stack due to it being very overpowered (personal opinion here).

I would like an official ruling, going by Pathfinder RAW rules / Whatever the Game Designers have ruled in the past.

I appreciate any input that the community can give, and want to lay this question to rest.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes, the pathfinder rules specifically allow this.

CRB p459 wrote:
A humanoid-shaped body can be decked out in magic gear consisting of one item from each of the following groups, keyed to which slot on the body the item is worn.

You can find the listing of slots on CRB p459 or here.

Headband and Head slot are two different slots with different items that go into each slot. As per the rule quoted above both can be filled.

I am curious why you think it is overpowered. They are two very different slots with different types of items going into each slot.


You are allowed to use all of your magic item slots. In order for one of two slots to not work because one is cancelling the other there would need to be a specific rule saying so.

Sczarni

Just download a Paizo character sheet.

You'll see room for both item slots.


If the two slots didn't stack, there wouldn't be two slots. : /


in answer to Gauss, it is because I do heavily customized campaigns (current one is Pathfinder based in Elder Scrolls Skyrim), and whilst I like using the majority of the Magic Items that are in the system already, I love creating my own items. And certain items in the game, when stacked, make a character ridiculous.

Example: The party Mystic Theurge (and only Int based character) currently has a Headband of Intellect (the +4 version). The party found a crown that also adds +4 to intellect and a few other effects on it. To me, it doesn't make sense that you would wear a headband under a crown.

It's less of a 'rules' thing to me, and more of a 'common sense' thing. Why wear the Headband when the crown does the same thing, AND has additional effects.

IDK its just a personal pet peeve thing I guess, I'll get over it.

Thanks to you Gauss for the link as well. And everyone else who input.

Grand Lodge

One thing to check, is to see if they both provide the same kind of bonus to Int, I.E. are they both Enhancement bonuses? The headband is, so if the crown is, also, then the Int bonus won't stack.

Sczarni

Indeed.

Just because you can wear both a headband and a head slot item, doesn't mean the bonuses they grant will stack.

And if this is your homebrew campaign, you are also free to create or adjust any rules as you see fit.


You cannot stack enhancement bonuses to the same ability score regardless of where you get it from. So in the case of a "headband" item that gives an enhancement bonus to Int and a "head" item that gives an enhancement bonus to Int you take only the best.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As others have said, it's less about the items, more about the bonus types. You could have a headband, head, belt, boots, gloves, wrist, and a slotless item, all providing +4 enhancement bonus to Intelligence, and the character would only benefit from one of them.

Now, if your crown provides an untyped +4 bonus to Int, then it will stack with a headband of intellect, but that's an item design problem, not a rules problem.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It seems to me that the real problem with the poster's situation is that he slotted his crown wrong. A crown should normally be a headband slot item. Headband is just a less royal way of saying crown.

Wearing a crown and a helmet or hat is fairly common in history.

Sovereign Court

I wouldn't be able to plop a circlet of persuasion and a headband of alluring charisma on my Oracle if they didn't stack!


GinoA, according to the rules a crown is normally a "head" item. It is not a headband.

CRB p459 wrote:

Hands: gauntlets and gloves.

Head: circlets, crowns, hats, helms, and masks.
Headband: headbands and phylacteries.
Neck: amulets, brooches, medallions, necklaces, periapts, and scarabs.


blahpers wrote:
If the two slots didn't stack, there wouldn't be two slots. : /

Pfft! Logic... <eye-roll>

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Headband and Head slot, Do they Stack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions