Monk with power attack


Rules Questions


Hello all, as I have seen in other posts people are saying the Monk does not get 1.5x damage when power attacking with unarmed strike. The problem I'm running into is when using Hero Lab when you click on power attack it DOES give the monk the extra 1.5. Does anyone have any experience with this, if so please help I don't want my player thinking I'm nerffing his character.


You only get 3 bonus power attack damage for the -1 penalty while wielding a two handed weapon.

A monk while flurrying always deals strength damage (except for specific feats which change this like Dragon Style). Even if a monk were wielding a temple sword two handed she would deal 1.0 strength damage.

However, while using power attack that same temple sword wielding monk would get +3 damage for -1 penalty while wielding that temple sword two-handed while flurrying.

However, unarmed strikes cannot be two-handed. I'm not sure what is generating your error in HeroLab, but I'm fairly certainly it doesn't generally do this (as I also own HeroLab).


Monk wrote:
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.
Power Attack wrote:
This bonus to damage is increased by half (+50%) if you are making an attack with a two-handed weapon, a one handed weapon using two hands, or a primary natural weapon that adds 1-1/2 times your Strength modifier on damage rolls.

Power Attack's extra 50% bonus is tied to wielding a one or two-handed weapon in two hands. Even though a monk never deals 1.5 STR in a flurry, even with a two-handed weapon, attacking with a temple sword in two hands still triggers the extra language in Power Attack.

Seems a little silly to me, but that's how it works.


Thanks guys. I made a new monk in Hero Lab myself and it did not add the extra damage, ill have to check into his and see why its happening.

Scarab Sages

First thing, while Hero Lab is a very useful tool, it is not a rules source, and it is possible to make illegal things in hero lab due to a bug or user error.

You want to make sure you do not have any house rules enabled as that can cause problems to appear. You also need to specify you are using two hands on the temple sword. If it's not equipped or only equipped in one hand, it's going to show the default 1:2 power attack progression instead of the 1:3.


Regardless of what's written, I'm pretty sure the way a monk flurrying with a two-handed weapon should work is just like any other with unarmed strike or one-handed weapon, add STR x1 and Power Attack should be 1:2.

Btw, there's this Seven-Branched Sword (1d10/x3 monk) that let's you make a trip attack that leaves the target flat-footed instead of prone.


Does he have Dragon Style and Dragon Ferocity?

That would allow the 1.5x damage on Power Attack.

Scarab Sages

I've never been a fan of that idea. Dealing bonus damage equal to 1/2 your strength modifier is not the same thing as wielding a weapon with two hands. But w/e, I know why people do it, and don't feel like debating it.


It's not the same as wielding a weapon in two hands, but it takes advantage of Unarmed Strikes counting as Natural Attacks for the purpose of effects.

Slightly different angle.

Scarab Sages

But they are not Primary (or secondary) Natural Attacks, so they still don't get the 1:3 bonus.


Claxon wrote:
Even if a monk were wielding a temple sword two handed she would deal 1.0 strength damage.

Do you have a source for that?

Flurry of Blows wrote:
A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.

full =/= 1.0

Sczarni

Full is indeed equal to 1.0 (aka 100%).

If your Strength is 18, and your modifier is +4, then dealing your "full Strength bonus to damage" is dealing +4 damage.


Nefreet wrote:

Full is indeed equal to 1.0 (aka 100%).

If your Strength is 18, and your modifier is +4, then dealing your "full Strength bonus to damage" is dealing +4 damage.

Full means that it is not reduced, not that it is set to a specific amount. Nobody in the real world uses the word "full" to imply a restriction or diminish something.

Sczarni

If I say that a glass is full, you wouldn't assume it was overflowing ;-)


Nefreet wrote:
If I say that a glass is full, you wouldn't assume it was overflowing ;-)

Any overflowing cup is also full.

More to the point, your physical analogy has no representation for the increase in damage from using a two-handed weapon.

Edit: Since we're using analogies, it's like... one car goes 20 miles on a gallon of gas and the other goes 30. Same full gallon, different consequences.

Sczarni

If you're suggesting that "full" means anything more than 100%, where do you draw the line?


Regardless, the second part of the sentence clears up the meaning. I never knew that about monks. Strange.


Torchlyte wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

Full is indeed equal to 1.0 (aka 100%).

If your Strength is 18, and your modifier is +4, then dealing your "full Strength bonus to damage" is dealing +4 damage.

Full means that it is not reduced, not that it is set to a specific amount. Nobody in the real world uses the word "full" to imply a restriction or diminish something.

+4 damage for an 18 Str is not reduced.


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
+4 damage for an 18 Str is not reduced.

It is if you normally do +6 damage.


But you're not normally doing +6.

You're doing full damage at +4.

+6 is what happens when you apply a modifier beyond that, which multiplies your full damage by 1.5.

If I have a container which holds 4 apples, and put 4 apples in it, it is fully.

If I then multiply the contents of the container by 1.5, I now have 6 apples.

But my container is still full with only 4.


Rynjin wrote:

But you're not normally doing +6.

You're doing full damage at +4.

+6 is what happens when you apply a modifier beyond that, which multiplies your full damage by 1.5.

If I have a container which holds 4 apples, and put 4 apples in it, it is fully.

If I then multiply the contents of the container by 1.5, I now have 6 apples.

But my container is still full with only 4.

If the box is full at 4 and then gets multiplied, then being told that I get a full box does not preclude me from multiplying.

Sczarni

*cough*

Earlier, I wrote:
If you're suggesting that "full" means anything more than 100%, where do you draw the line?


Nefreet wrote:

*cough*

Earlier, I wrote:
If you're suggesting that "full" means anything more than 100%, where do you draw the line?
Torchlyte wrote:
Full means that it is not reduced, not that it is set to a specific amount.

Sczarni

So, if I'm a Monk wielding a two-handed weapon, and I flurry with it, I can add 2x my Strength modifier? 5x? Any amount I want?


STR Bonus = X

Full means maximum capacity. Sure, it can also mean not lacking anything, or "complete". But not lacking something is not the same as exceeding your maximal value. That means "full STR bonus" is X.

That you can typically do 1.5 STR with two-handed weapons doesn't mean that 1.5 STR is "full STR bonus", such an argument is pure sophistry.

1.5 X is not "full"; it is half again full.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
just scroll up wrote:


A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands.

Stupid argument.


For the record, the RAW is that a monk attacking with a temple sword wielded in both hands (or any other two-handed weapon) deals 1 x strength modifier damage, not 1.5 as other characters get. The text for Power Attack clearly states that any weapon used two-handed gets a 1:3 damage bonus, not 1:2, and does not name any exceptions. GMs may house-rule otherwise, but by RAW a monk using a weapon two-handed will get the full bonus of Power Attack the same as anyone else.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dabbler wrote:

For the record, the RAW is that a monk attacking with a temple sword wielded in both hands (or any other two-handed weapon) deals 1 x strength modifier damage, not 1.5 as other characters get. The text for Power Attack clearly states that any weapon used two-handed gets a 1:3 damage bonus, not 1:2, and does not name any exceptions. GMs may house-rule otherwise, but by RAW a monk using a weapon two-handed will get the full bonus of Power Attack the same as anyone else.

Just to be clear - this is for a flurry. Monks obviously still get 1.5 STR with a two-handed weapon on a regular attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk with power attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.