Can a Critical Hit Be Confirmed on a Creature that is Immune to Precision Damage for the Purposes of Triggering Secondary Effects?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Scenario: A hunter and its companion are flanking and elemental, they have the Outflank feat, and the hunter rolls a critical threat against the elemental. Even though the elemental is immune to critical hits, should the hunter roll to determine if the critical hit would confirm, and thus trigger the outflank attack of opportunity, or does the creatures immunity nullify the outflank trigger?

I'm sure there are other feats that trigger off critical confirmation, but I couldn't find any relevant threads


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Read the language of the feat.
"In addition, whenever you score a critical hit against the flanked creature, it provokes an attack of opportunity from your ally."

You must score a critical hit. Seems somewhat obvious you cannot score a critical hit vs. a creature that is immune to them anymore than you could add the damage from a fire damage rider vs. a creature that's immune to fire damage.

Your answer is No. You cannot confirm a critical hit that cannot happen (and even if you could the creature would still not be effected so no trigger can ever happen).


That. If it's immune to crits, you're not getting any grit, you're not triggering teamwork feats, nothing.


In this case no. It it was a magical ability on a weapon then yes, but only because the rules say they activate on critical hits.


wraithstrike wrote:

In this case no. It it was a magical ability on a weapon then yes, but only because the rules say they activate on critical hits.

Not even then. You activate when you confirm the crit. You can't confirm the crit if you can't crit it.


You might have to review each specific case for how it is worded, but in this case no.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think the implication of this FAQ is that the wording isn't supposed to matter, except for weird things like vorpal.


I think the answer is Yes: effects that trigger on a critical occur even if the target is immune to the critical.

Most "on crit" effects are just using the critical mechanics to determine how often they trigger, whether or not the target takes damage from the critical hit itself is irrelevant.

Burst weapons trigger their extra damage, grit/panache is gained, etc.


Bronnwynn wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

In this case no. It it was a magical ability on a weapon then yes, but only because the rules say they activate on critical hits.

Not even then. You activate when you confirm the crit. You can't confirm the crit if you can't crit it.

I am correct. Check the magic weapon rules. I am on my phone or I would quote it for you.


wraithstrike wrote:
Bronnwynn wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

In this case no. It it was a magical ability on a weapon then yes, but only because the rules say they activate on critical hits.

Not even then. You activate when you confirm the crit. You can't confirm the crit if you can't crit it.
I am correct. Check the magic weapon rules. I am on my phone or I would quote it for you.

Found it:

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magicItems/weapons.html wrote:
Magic Weapons and Critical Hits: Some weapon special abilities and some specific weapons have an extra effect on a critical hit. This special effect also functions against creatures not normally subject to critical hits. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapon's regular damage

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

At the risk of rules lawyering should the note in magic weapons be considered a "rule" or a clarification. The later being sort of president for a similar ruling on grit/outflank/etc?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I may brave beat myself on a technicality, almost all creature types that are immune to certain are also immune to flank, so outflank is defeated.


Galnörag wrote:
... The later being sort of president for a similar ruling on grit/outflank/etc?

It clarifies magic weapons and specifically magic weapons. It in no way sets a larger RAW precedent expanding to anything else. If it was to do that it would have been put as a FAQ/Errata to a more general rules section.

As Claxon said above, you might need to review some specific cases similar to this (as with magic weapons) that might have specific>general exceptions but this is NOT one of those.

If you need a narrative reason to explain it, which in the rules forum you don't but I'll run with it, Outflank works in an extra AoO because it represents when you hit something really hard it distracts them enough your partner can get a shot in. As the immune to crit creature cannot ever be hit critically hard they are never that extra distracted needed for your Outflank partner to get a full AoO shot in.


The title of the post asks about creatures that are immune to precision damage...

Did you mean creatures that are immune to critical hits? Because critical hits are a completely separate thing from precision damage.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Gwen Smith wrote:

The title of the post asks about creatures that are immune to precision damage...

Did you mean creatures that are immune to critical hits? Because critical hits are a completely separate thing from precision damage.

I was less accurate then I should have been, but their are a lot of creatures which are both immune to crits and immune to precision damage.


How about things like this trait:

Flame of the Dawnflower wrote:


Source Ultimate Campaign pg. 64 (Amazon), Qadira, Gateway to the East pg. 23 (Amazon), Advanced Player's Guide pg. 1 (Amazon)
Requirement(s) Sarenrae
You have been raised to view yourself as a blade in Sarenrae’s service, or you have taken on that duty for yourself. Whenever you score a critical hit with a scimitar, you deal 2 additional points of fire damage to your target.


Caliban_ wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Bronnwynn wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

In this case no. It it was a magical ability on a weapon then yes, but only because the rules say they activate on critical hits.

Not even then. You activate when you confirm the crit. You can't confirm the crit if you can't crit it.
I am correct. Check the magic weapon rules. I am on my phone or I would quote it for you.

Found it:

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magicItems/weapons.html wrote:
Magic Weapons and Critical Hits: Some weapon special abilities and some specific weapons have an extra effect on a critical hit. This special effect also functions against creatures not normally subject to critical hits. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapon's regular damage

I am proven wrong. Good to know.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Critical Hit Be Confirmed on a Creature that is Immune to Precision Damage for the Purposes of Triggering Secondary Effects? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions