Quick Witch's Hex question(s)


Rules Questions


Two questions of shared origins:

A number of Witch's Hexes specifically say that once a target has been subject to a Hex, he may not be subject to it again that day. Is it safe to assume that if a Hex is not called out in such a fashion, that that rule does not hold true?

For instance, consider the Major Hex Retribution:

Retribution (Su): A witch can place a retribution hex on a creature within 60 feet, causing terrible wounds to open across the target’s flesh whenever it deals damage to another creature in melee. Immediately after the hexed creature deals damage in melee, it takes half that damage (round down). This damage bypasses any resistances, immunities, or damage reduction the creature possesses. This effect lasts for a number of rounds equal to the witch’s Intelligence modifier. A Will save negates this effect.

Presumably, since the daily restriction is not mentioned, this Hex can be used against a target not only multiple times a day, but theoretically multiple times at once, with consecutive applications over-lapping, yes?

Another example would be the Infected Wounds Hex.

Next question:

A number of Witch's Hexes specifically say that the Hex is a mind-affecting effect. Is it safe to assume that if a Hex is not called out in such a fashion that that rule does not hold true (and therefor allowing the Hex to affect creatures normally immune to mind-affecting effects)?

For instance, consider the Slumber Hex:

Slumber (Su): A witch can cause a creature within 30 feet to fall into a deep, magical sleep, as per the spell sleep. The creature receives a Will save to negate the effect. If the save fails, the creature falls asleep for a number of rounds equal to the witch’s level. This hex can affect a creature of any HD. The creature will not wake due to noise or light, but others can rouse it with a standard action. This hex ends immediately if the creature takes damage. Whether or not the save is successful, a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day.

The Sleep spell is a mind-affecting effect, but 'as per' the spell suggests that the effects are the same (i.e. not awoken by noise), but not the nature of the spell (i.e. mind-affecting). Does this mean that the Slumber Hex would be usuable against targets normally immune to mind-affecting effects?

Another example would be the Agony Hex.

Thanks in advance.


1. Yes. there are some hexes that have hexes with Conditional Restrictions instead of time based.
2. Yes. Things like constructs, undead, oozes, vermin cannot be affected by mind affecting things.
3. Most witch hexes have Time Restrictions.


1) Retribution: This doesn't have the 'once per day language', so you could place this on an enemy multiple times. But you still can't hex the same one to stack it multiple times. Unless stated otherwise, you can't stack the same effect That post will have some more information relevant to your questions too, I think.

2) Slumber: Since it's as per sleep, it'll still be affected by immunity to mind-affecting effects.

3) Agony: This doesn't state that it's mind-affecting or references any mind-affecting spells. Plus, mind-affecting spells aren't generally fortitude based :)

The FAQ has a number of answers on witch hexes too. You can find 'em starting here.


EgyptFanatic wrote:

1. Yes. there are some hexes that have hexes with Conditional Restrictions instead of time based.

2. Yes. Things like constructs, undead, oozes, vermin cannot be affected by mind affecting things.
3. Most witch hexes have Time Restrictions.

I'm sorry, but none of those responses answer my questions...

Can the Retribution or Infected Wounds Hexes be used multiple times against the same target, even to the point of stacking effects?

Would a Slumber or Agony Hex be effective against a Construct, Ooze or Undead, given that they are not specifically mentioned as mind-affecting effects when others are?


Slumber hex is still mind-affecting compulsion as per sleep spell. Everything after the first line, alters how it works in its new hex-y form. What is not changed is that it does not remove its mind-affecting descriptor. It is already quite powerful, allowing it to affect mind-affecting immune creatures just makes it too powerful.

Edit: Cheapy has it right.


Cheapy wrote:

1) Retribution: This doesn't have the 'once per day language', so you could place this on an enemy multiple times. But you still can't hex the same one to stack it multiple times. Unless stated otherwise, you can't stack the same effect That post will have some more information relevant to your questions too, I think.

2) Slumber: Since it's as per sleep, it'll still be affected by immunity to mind-affecting effects.

3) Agony: This doesn't state that it's mind-affecting or references any mind-affecting spells. Plus, mind-affecting spells aren't generally fortitude based :)

The FAQ has a number of answers on witch hexes too. You can find 'em starting here.

That's exactly what I was looking for, Cheapy - thanks.


As a side note, creatures that are immune to nauseated (Behemoth subtype) or fort saves (undead) will be immune to the Agony hex.

Shadow Lodge

Avianfoo wrote:
As a side note, creatures that are immune to nauseated (Behemoth subtype) or fort saves (undead) will be immune to the Agony hex.

Since when are undead immune to fort saves?

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

UNDEAD
Undead are once-living creatures animated by spiritual or supernatural forces. An undead creature has the following features.
Traits: An undead creature possesses the following traits (unless otherwise noted in a creature's entry).
...
Immunity to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects or is harmless).


Sean K Reynolds wrote:

UNDEAD

Undead are once-living creatures animated by spiritual or supernatural forces. An undead creature has the following features.
Traits: An undead creature possesses the following traits (unless otherwise noted in a creature's entry).
...
Immunity to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects or is harmless).

That strikes me as rather odd given that they all have Fortitude saves in their stat blocks...


Well, there are fortitude targetting abilities that they aren't going to be immune to...so may as well have it. It's going to be low, being only HD / 3 (although given how many HD undead usually have...), but it's there!

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

Disintegrate is a spell that works on objects, thus undead can be affected by it, thus there's a reason to have a Fort save listed for the undead. They're immune to most Will save effects, too, but we list their Will save bonus, just in case.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick Witch's Hex question(s) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions