Can Eidolon claws only be purchased in pairs?


Rules Questions


I searched but couldn't find an answer. The claws evolution states: "An eidolon has a pair of vicious claws at the end of its limbs, giving it two claw attacks." No problem there; spend a point and you get two claws. But what if you've reached a level where your eidolon is allowed an odd number of attacks and you'd rather add an extra claw rather than say a bite, slam, tentacle or what-have-you? You're free to buy as many pairs of limbs as you can afford, but can you spend 1 evolution point to add claws to one of those limbs or, alternatively, add claws to both limbs but only use one of them in battle to make your odd number of attacks?


yeah, claws are in pairs. this is when you swap in and out something, like rake. odd attacks have rake, even have claws with no rake.

Grand Lodge

At that point you want to get the Rend evolution which will take care of that left over natural attack and you get pretty good return on it.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Alternatively, you can get a Slam attack for one pair of arms if you are under 6th level.


I'd allow the purchase, but with the PC understanding that even with 2 you'd only get the one extra attack due to the hard cap.


Chess Pwn wrote:
yeah, claws are in pairs. this is when you swap in and out something, like rake. odd attacks have rake, even have claws with no rake.

Rake is only good for Quadrupeds though.

LazarX wrote:
At that point you want to get the Rend evolution which will take care of that left over natural attack and you get pretty good return on it.

I believe that Rend by itself is a special ability, not an attack. It has no attack roll of its own; it happens automatically if you hit with 2 other claw attacks, so it shouldn't count towards your maximum number of attacks per round. Correct me if I'm wrong.

David knott 242 wrote:
Alternatively, you can get a Slam attack for one pair of arms if you are under 6th level.

That's true, though what does being under 6th level have to do with it?


Rathendar wrote:
I'd allow the purchase, but with the PC understanding that even with 2 you'd only get the one extra attack due to the hard cap.

Naturally. I'm just wondering if this requires house-ruling or is a valid option rules-wise.


It'd be house ruling at that point.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can Eidolon claws only be purchased in pairs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions