Grappling Large and Huge Targets


Rules Questions


Very quick question here: when you make a grapple check to tie a creature up, is there anything preventing you from tying up a large or larger creature on a successful check?

If possible, please cite a source. It's my VL that just ruled I cannot tie up a huge creature while I was enlarged.

Silver Crusade

Your VL is mistaken. Bull rush, overrun, and trip have size limitations (up to one category larger than you). Grapple has no such limitation. Source: Core Rulebook, Combat chapter.


The Fox wrote:
Your VL is mistaken. Bull rush, overrun, and trip have size limitations (up to one category larger than you). Grapple has no such limitation. Source: Core Rulebook, Combat chapter.

He never had problems with the actual grappling, just the tie up action.


No size limitations on grapple in pathfinder. Your druid in tiny bat form with agile maneuvers can judo flip the ancient red wyrm.

Silver Crusade

PRD wrote:
Tie Up: If you have your target pinned, otherwise restrained, or unconscious, you can use rope to tie him up. This works like a pin effect, but the DC to escape the bonds is equal to 20 + your Combat Maneuver Bonus (instead of your CMD). The ropes do not need to make a check every round to maintain the pin. If you are grappling the target, you can attempt to tie him up in ropes, but doing so requires a combat maneuver check at a –10 penalty. If the DC to escape from these bindings is higher than 20 + the target's CMB, the target cannot escape from the bonds, even with a natural 20 on the check.

Nothing about size restrictions.

Liberty's Edge

The only restriction is likely to be the size of the ties you are using to tie up the target.

If you are using 50' of rope, then you will likely need to take the -4 on your grapple check as you get the rope out of your backpack with the other hand, and are thus only grappling with one hand.

But if you just have 2 or 3' lengths of rope on your belt for just such an occasion that don't require you to take the -4, you likely don't have enough rope to tie up a large or huge creature.


Andrew Christian wrote:

The only restriction is likely to be the size of the ties you are using to tie up the target.

If you are using 50' of rope, then you will likely need to take the -4 on your grapple check as you get the rope out of your backpack with the other hand, and are thus only grappling with one hand.

But if you just have 2 or 3' lengths of rope on your belt for just such an occasion that don't require you to take the -4, you likely don't have enough rope to tie up a large or huge creature.

In this case, I am grappling with the White Hair ability of the White Haired Witch and am pulling out a full 50' length of rope each time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling Large and Huge Targets All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions