Does Luring Cavalier's Far Challenge benefit from Order bonus to challenge?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Thread topic.

Does my Order of the Sword Luring Cavalier get +X to attack against the target of its Far Challenge? Or, since it isn't the normal challenge, it doesn't get the bonus?

If there's any FAQ on this, I'd appreciate the link.


Instead of starting a new thread I thought I'd just revive this one since I have the exact same question. I'm building an Order of the Land Cavalier for Ironfang Invasion and was wondering if it's Challenge bonus applies to Far Challenges. Thank you.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Chance Wade wrote:
Instead of starting a new thread I thought I'd just revive this one since I have the exact same question. I'm building an Order of the Land Cavalier for Ironfang Invasion and was wondering if it's Challenge bonus applies to Far Challenges. Thank you.

I never thought I'd see it...

This is the correct reason/method to resurrect threads.

My personal common-sense ruling would be to say yes, this should work. As for a PFS or other "official" ruling, I'd err on the side of caution and treat it as if it didn't. As with all things, treat it as if it were the worst possible interpretation, until the devs nerf it so that it is even worse.

Silver Crusade

My Self wrote:
As with all things, treat it as if it were the worst possible interpretation, until the devs nerf it so that it is even worse.

lol! So true!


yes it works.


It should work, but the Far Challenge class feature in the archetype does not include a line that says it counts as the Cavalier "Challenge" class feature, just that it replaces it. I would think that it would work as a regular challenge, but would be more clear if they included a line that specified that it counted as the Challenge ability. As it stands, a really RAW-tastic GM could legitimately argue that a Luring Cavalier doesn't qualify for feats that require the Challenge class feature (not that there are many of them).


Saldiven wrote:
the Far Challenge class feature in the archetype does not include a line that says it counts as the Cavalier "Challenge" class feature, just that it replaces it.

Resurrecting this thread instead of starting a new one, as well, because I have the exact same question and some information that wasn't addressed on this topic.

I feel like the above quote wasn't properly addressed, even if it is a bit of a nitpicky reason to prevent it, but a line jumped out at me while I was reading far challenge that made me really reconsider whether far challenge should work with the base order bonus.

Quote:
If this challenge ends because the target hits the luring cavalier with a melee attack, this challenge changes to the effects of the normal cavalier challenge, and gains any order benefit the luring cavalier has.

Am I crazy, or does this seem to strongly imply that Far Challenge does *not* grant order bonuses? Especially when considered with Saldiven's original statement?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Luring Cavalier's Far Challenge benefit from Order bonus to challenge? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions