What happens if a template gives DR cold iron to a creature with DR silver?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I couldn't find an answer to this anywhere.

If a base creature that has DR 5/silver, and but has a template that gives it DR 5/cold iron, how does its DR now work?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

You take the better of the two in any situation which effectively means he has DR 5/silver and cold iron.

A more odd setup is DR 10/adamantine and DR 3/- (a barbarian with stoneskin could have this).

In that case you check the higher of the two first (DR 10/adamantine) and if it bypasses that (such as an Adamantine weapon) then you check the DR 3/-.

This is overlapping but not stacking.


Gauss wrote:
It has DR 5/silver and cold iron.

How does that work, then? You can't have a weapon made of both silver and cold iron.


Michael Haneline wrote:
Gauss wrote:
It has DR 5/silver and cold iron.
How does that work, then? You can't have a weapon made of both silver and cold iron.

When weapons are enhanced they can bypass material DR depending on whether they are a +2 +3 etc...


They have DR5/Cold Iron and Silver. You use whichever is best in any gioven situation. So if hit with a Silver/Mithral weapon they use DR5/Cold Iron. If hit with a Cold Iron weapon they use DR5/Silver.

That is you have to hit them with a Cold Iron Silver/Mithral Weapon OR a weapon with a +3 Enhancement bonus (note don't count special abilities that have an enhancement bonus value - it has to be an actual enhancement bonus).

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/special-abilities#TOC-Damage-Reductio n


Other than having a +3 weapon, there are also oils and the like to temporarily apply to a weapon to allow it to bypass specific DRs; so a cold-iron weapon with silver-oil would bypass both.

Grand Lodge

An attack that counts as both silver and cold iron (such as any weapon with a +3 enhancement bonus or a 9th level brawler's punch), that bypasses all DR or that has +6 or higher static damage can harm this creature. It's no big deal.

Shadow Lodge

Michael Haneline wrote:
Gauss wrote:
It has DR 5/silver and cold iron.
How does that work, then? You can't have a weapon made of both silver and cold iron.

Sure you can: Weapon Blanch

Just apply silver blanch to a cold iron weapon or cold iron blanch to a silver weapon.
This is standard procedure for archers.


Are you sure it becomes DR5 /cold iron and silver?

I would have said it becomes DR5/cold iron and DR5/Silver, meaning:

DR0 against a weapon that is both,
DR5 against a weapon that is one of them,
DR10 against a weapon that is neither.

Since you all seem to agree, could you point me to the relevant rules text?


Kalridian wrote:

Are you sure it becomes DR5 /cold iron and silver?

I would have said it becomes DR5/cold iron and DR5/Silver, meaning:

DR0 against a weapon that is both,
DR5 against a weapon that is one of them,
DR10 against a weapon that is neither.

Since you all seem to agree, could you point me to the relevant rules text?

DR never stacks. You take the most advantageous instance. It is DR 5 against any weapon that is not both cold iron and silver.


Kalridian wrote:

Are you sure it becomes DR5 /cold iron and silver?

I would have said it becomes DR5/cold iron and DR5/Silver, meaning:

DR0 against a weapon that is both,
DR5 against a weapon that is one of them,
DR10 against a weapon that is neither.

Since you all seem to agree, could you point me to the relevant rules text?

CRB glossary on DR wrote:
If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation.


Ah, thx. DR stacking hadn't really come up in my games yet.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What happens if a template gives DR cold iron to a creature with DR silver? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions