Merchant Lord


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Merchant Lord (Cleric Class Deck) states:

Discard this card to give any number of cards to another character.

Merchant (RoR AD 2) states:

Discard this card to give a card to another character at any location.

So, can Merchant Lord only be used to give multiple cards to another character at your location? Meaning that it only allows you to change the TIMING in which you normally can give a card (before you move at the beginning of your turn) and the AMOUNT of cards you can give ( multiple vs. the normal allotment of one).

Whereas the Merchant changes the TIMING and the LOCATION RESTRICTION?

I'm not sure Merchant Lord is really an upgrade, or more of a side grade depending on the situation....


Since it doesn't specify location, I'd assume it means a character at any location. The Merchant might have redundant text there.

Pathfinder ACG Designer

jones314 wrote:
Since it doesn't specify location, I'd assume it means a character at any location. The Merchant might have redundant text there.

This is correct.

Sovereign Court

Any number of cards, to any location? GOOD LORD!!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Andrew K wrote:
Any number of cards, to any location? GOOD LORD!!

No, Merchant Lord.

Sovereign Court

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Andrew K wrote:
Any number of cards, to any location? GOOD LORD!!
No, Merchant Lord.

... You win, sir.


Those shipping and handling charges are killer, though!

Grand Lodge

Melemkor wrote:
Those shipping and handling charges are killer, though!

Especially international shipping ...


And was I correct in the assumption that you may also do this at any time that a player may respond ( i.e. during someone else's encounter )
and not just at the normal "give a card" step?

Because if so, wow, he's great! I've been using him with Valeros to dole out weapons and armor in case of emergency ( Kyra or Lem drawing a difficult foe and getting smashed in the face ).


kidray666 wrote:

And was I correct in the assumption that you may also do this at any time that a player may respond ( i.e. during someone else's encounter )

and not just at the normal "give a card" step?

Because if so, wow, he's great! I've been using him with Valeros to dole out weapons and armor in case of emergency ( Kyra or Lem drawing a difficult foe and getting smashed in the face ).

I'm not sure you can do that. You can generally play cards at any time between flipping the blessings deck and someone resetting their hand. A notable exception is during an encounter when you can only play cards that pertain to each step.

Sovereign Court

Jones is coorrect. You can still limited to playing cards that directly affect the step or encounter.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Merchant Lord All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion