Cleric spontaneous casting


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I am not sure if I was taught wrong from the start or if Pathfinder is different. Is converting a spell to a cure spell a standard action or a full round action? Feel free to call me dumb as you answer.


It is not really an action. The action is casting a cure spell. Clerics are able to power this spell by using a level equivalent non-domain spell slot that contained a different spell.

If you want to look at this as a spell conversion then I would treat it as a free action.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Even "free action" is putting too much of a label on it. You're literally casting a cure spell using the energy of a different prepared spell.


It's only a full-round action if you use a metamagic feat or rod to modify your spontaneous cure spell.

Sczarni

^ whew has it.

It's one of those subtle rules even long time players forget about.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric spontaneous casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions