Is there any way to acquire Oracle Revelations outside her own Mystery?


Rules Questions


I'm making an Oracle (Dark Tapestry) for our Way of the Wicked AP. And I'm drooling after the Sidestep Secret Revelation - from the Lore Mystery. Is there any way I could get it? Ring of Revelation does not work, because the Revelation has to be from the Oracles own Mystery. And no, I'm not making a Lore Oracle because of story reasons.

EDIT: Strange Revelation Feat could do this, but unfortunately we can't use 3rd party stuff in our game.
EDIT 2: Changed the Subject.


I always wondered if you can UMD the mystery class feature of the ring of revelation. That's a flat DC 20, which should not pose a problem at the level you may purchase the ring. I wanted to try with my oracle, but it seemed quite cheesy to me. Anyone ?


@Melshyahr

Nope, doesn't work. Here's a quote from James Jacobs about it.


James Jacobs points that a non-Oracle cannot use this ring, but the question here is: can an oracle use a revelation from another mystery through UMD and this ring?


Melshyahr wrote:
James Jacobs points that a non-Oracle cannot use this ring, but the question here is: can an oracle use a revelation from another mystery through UMD and this ring?

That's true! Thanks for pointing it out :) We have to ask him again, then.


Not possible, I'm afraid. An Evangelist of Pharasma gets to pick a Bones revelation but that's the only way to draw outside of your mystery.


@Arachnofiend

That's my interpretation also. Let's say I take these two Mysteries as I intended: Shadow Cloak (Dark Tapestry) and Sidestep Secret (Lore). That would give me an armor that scales up almost indefinitely - AC @ 6th level would already be +10 (+4 from Cloak, +6 from CHA). And there would be no Max DEX (or CHA, in this case) to that "armor". What a cheesy and broken armor that would be.


Have you heard about taking Celestial Obedience (Arshea) hargoyle? Cause if you haven't you should.


Anzyr wrote:
Have you heard about taking Celestial Obedience (Arshea) hargoyle? Cause if you haven't you should.

Didn't know this existed. Nice! Unfortunately we're all LE, so storywise it wouldn't make sense. But I'll definitely use this in some other campaign.


hargoyle wrote:
Melshyahr wrote:
James Jacobs points that a non-Oracle cannot use this ring, but the question here is: can an oracle use a revelation from another mystery through UMD and this ring?
That's true! Thanks for pointing it out :) We have to ask him again, then.

Short answer yes you can and people should stop ignoring everything in UMD except scroll/wand use

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=410?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#20475

I've submitted this to PFSRD before ...but they don't care and quote the old post ;(


ShiroK wrote:
hargoyle wrote:
Melshyahr wrote:
James Jacobs points that a non-Oracle cannot use this ring, but the question here is: can an oracle use a revelation from another mystery through UMD and this ring?
That's true! Thanks for pointing it out :) We have to ask him again, then.

Short answer yes you can and people should stop ignoring everything in UMD except scroll/wand use

fixed link

I've submitted this to PFSRD before ...but they don't care and quote the old post ;(

I fixed that for you.

EDIT: This time.
EDIT 2 & 3: And it looks like they did anyway? So... what's the problem? What aren't they doing?


Why does it auto break links anyway? It didn't before. Is there a trick to it?

Also it was more the are linking to the older post where James basically says it doesn't work at all. It also doesn't even touch on the specific situation of an oracle using UMD to simulate a second mystery to use mixed revelations like the later clarification does. Though both still leave the very dark grey (i'm going with no and i'm totally for letting anything fly) non-oracle for revelations with no minimum oracle level required and no activation. Such as side step. Because While UMD grants a class feature and was presumably intended to emulate a class with said feature due to it's text it doesn't explicitly do so. And the item states you need to be said class.


Ok, thanks for the reply and the digging in James Jacobs threads ;)


@ShiroK

Ok, thanks for the digging :)


It does not read that way to me. But it is, of course, your call in your game.
EDIT: it breaks links because of spam problems. Just use url= and /url in brackets when you link something in the future. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is there any way to acquire Oracle Revelations outside her own Mystery? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions