Retraining: Expanded Arcana 0 Spells Known


Rules Questions


Hello,

I'm playing a Crossblooded Sorcerer with 0 Spells Known (of his highest spell level) at even levels. Can I retrain an odd-level feat at a new even level into Expanded Arcana to increase 0 Spells Known to 1?

Also, it it possible to retrain Additional Traits every so often into itself? An example would be: retrain Magical Lineage (3-level spell) into Magical Lineage (4-level spell).

Liberty's Edge

AFAIK RAW you can.

If I get your idea right:

level 4:
retrain the feat you selected at level 3 into expanded arcana

then

retrain the lower level expanded arcana to another feat.

It is right?

Costly but feasible.

FAQ wrote:

Retraining: Can I retrain a feat to replace it with a feat I didn't qualify for at the level I originally gained that feat?

Yes. As long as the new feat is a valid feat for your current character, you can retrain the old feat and replace it with the new feat.

For example, if you are a 3rd-level rogue who took Improved Initiative at 1st level, you can retrain that feat and replace it with Weapon Focus. Even though Weapon Focus has a prerequisite of "base attack bonus +1" (which means you couldn't take it as a 1st-level rogue), it is a valid feat for your current level (3rd), and is therefore a valid choice for retraining.

(Note: Likewise, the fighter class ability to retrain fighter bonus feats does not require you to meet all of the new feat's prerequisites at the level you originally gained the feat.)

This feat say you can do it.

There is another way to do it: retraining directly the older expanded arcana. It is not completely clear how it work; a possible interpretation is:
retrain the feat - 5 days
as a part of the same retraining retrain the know spell, 2 days * new spell level.

- * -

That open an interesting option: let's say that I have taken extra arcana as a level 3 sorcerer, learning 1 extra 1st level spell.
Now I retrain it as a 4th level sorcerer. I can take 2 1st level spells? Essentially I could retrain a extra spell in every expanded arcana feat I have taken as soon as I get a higher level spell.


Diego Rossi wrote:

AFAIK RAW you can.

If I get your idea right:

level 4:
retrain the feat you selected at level 3 into expanded arcana

then

retrain the lower level expanded arcana to another feat.

It is right?

Costly but feasible.

Yep, this is what I meant.

Say you had Improved Initiative at Level 3. Now, at Level 4, you retrain to Expanded Arcana to have access to a 2nd-level spell.

And then later, at level 6, you retrain again, to have access to a 3rd-level spell, losing a 2nd-level spell known.

Silver Crusade

That retraining additional traits into a different version of additional traits is an interesting proposition.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Retraining: Expanded Arcana 0 Spells Known All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions