Question regarding Barl Breakbones and resetting


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Was hoping someone could provide clarification regarding the first power on Barl Breakbones, specifically:

After the first check, discard 1 random card from your hand, then reset your hand

On page 9 of the rulebook (RotR, v.2/4/14), it states resetting your hand as:

Reset Your Hand: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn; if a power allows or directs you to not reset your hand, you must still apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. You may play cards and use powers unless a power directed you to reset your hand and end your turn. After resolving these effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn.

Next, you may discard any number of cards. Then, if you have more cards in your hand than your hand size specifies, you must discard until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size. Finally, if you have fewer cards than your hand size, you must draw cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size.

First off, per another thread, I am going with the person encountering the villian as the person who has to discard and reset.

If I as the person encountering the villain performs the first check, am I still able to perform the second check after resetting as well if I wanted? I think I would be able to since it does not indicate to end my turn, but on the last sentence of the first paragraph from the rulebook for resetting, it reads: "... After resolving these [end of turn] effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn". If I am able to perform the second check, would I be limited to my base strength/melee skill since I cannot play anymore cards/powers, and have to rely on other characters to provide blessings/powers to enhance my check?

Additionally, as part of resetting my hand, I believe I would still be able to discard additional cards on top of the 1 random card required by Barl's power then fill up back to hand size, is that correct?


This got confused by the changes of resetting your hand in the rulebook. Originally, "reset your hand" was simply the act of getting to your hand size (discarding and/or drawing cards). After some discussion, it was decided that "end of turn" things should also happen before you actually reset your hand.

So, when Barl tells you to reset your hand, he just means getting to your hand size. So do the things in the second paragraph. (The one that begins "Next, you may discard...") You can still attempt the second check and you can play cards and use powers when doing so.

And yes, I'd say you can discard more cards if you want. That is part of resetting your hand.


Thanks Hawkmoon, how you described it is how we decided to play it when we encountered him last night.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The german translation is extremely worse for Barl. It say's that after the first check the player has to discard 1 random card from his hand and then recharge! his hand card's. So he is only beatable with at least 2 characters in play.


I thought this thread was about setting broken bones when I first read the title.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Question regarding Barl Breakbones and resetting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion