
KuntaSS |
Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
Is a wand an exception to the 'speak a single word' rule, or does it apply and was simply not mentioned under wands because it would be a redundancy? I always assumed anything smart enough to have ranks in UMD could just wave their magic stick around and make lightning come out, but I think the rules indicate you also need the ability to form words. What are the qualifications for speaking the word? Do you need to be humanoid, have a human-like mouth/vocal cords? Does it just need to be able to make noises?

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Outside of PFS the only requirement I'm aware of is the ability to speak the command word. A Raven could even clutch a wand in its claws and zap people with it (assuming it has UMD).
PFS has the added restriction that Animal Companions cannot activate magic items (one exception exists) and that only a handful of Improved Familiars can activate wands (Ravens cannot).
If this is for a home game, ask your GM what their rules are.