Drake Brimstone
|
| 16 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
In Animal Archive there is a level 1 spell (for EVERY casting class that gets an AC.) called Shield Companion, which behaves exactly like Shield Other except it can only be cast on your Animal Companion.
In the Advanced Class Guide there is a NEW spell with the same name and a slightly different effect and it is level 2. Not every class that can get an AC has access to it. (For example, Clerics with the Animal domain don't get it.)
So, are both just different spells with the same name and anyone with access to both of them treats them as different spells?
Does the new spell replace the old one? (Which would suck because the old one is a level 1 spell.)
It really looks like they forget they already had a spell by that name when they made this one as the effects, while similar, are different.
Cyd the Arcmagi
|
here is the old one from Animal Archive pg. 25. (it' at the bottom)
Here is the new one ACG pg-191/192
schoolabjuration; levelpaladin 2, ranger 2, shaman 2,
sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3
Casting Time1 standard action
ComponentsV, S
Rangeclose (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Targetyour companion creature
duration1 hour/level (D)
saving ThrowWill negates (harmless); spell Resistance
yes (harmless)
This spell creates a special mystical connection between
you and your companion creature—animal companion,
bonded mount, eidolon, or familiar—which allows you
to transfer its wounds to you. The creature gains a +1
deflection bonus to AC and a +1 resistance bonus on saves.
As an immediate action when your companion takes
damage, you can take that damage yourself to prevent
your companion from being harmed (similar to shield
other, except the damage is not split between you and the
target). Forms of harm that do not involve the loss of hit
points, such as charm effects, temporary ability damage,
level drain, and death effects, are not affected. If the
creature suffers a reduction of hit points from a lowered
Constitution score, you cannot take that damage on behalf
of your companion creature because it is not hit point
damage. When the spell ends, damage directed to you by
the spell is not reassigned to the subject.
If you and your companion move out of range of each
other, the spell ends.