Are Wizard spell prep rules too vague?


Rules Questions


So I'm introducing a friend of mine to the hobby, and lent him my core book to peruse. He's interested in the wizard, and was a little confused over how the spell prep mechanics worked. Apparently, he thought you prepped a certain number of spells per day, then used your spell slots to cast any of those spells (pretty much like the arcanist works).

I opened up the book and was surprised to find that at no point in the book, as far as I can tell, did it say that a wizard can only cast a spell once for each time he has prepared it. It's implied, but never outright stated. I honestly had trouble pointing to a place in the rules that refuted his interpretation. Maybe this could use a revision in future printings?

Grand Lodge

Page 206 of the Core Rulebook:

Choosing a Spell wrote:
First you must choose which spell to cast. If you’re a cleric, druid, experienced paladin, experienced ranger, or wizard, you select from among spells prepared earlier in the day and not yet cast (see Preparing Wizard Spells and Preparing Divine Spells).


That's how arcanist works, also 5e wizard now.


Aaaaand I found it. Tucked away under choosing a spell, not the preparation section. So I guess I'll change my suggestion, maybe the rules could use a succinct summary under the wizard section instead of having them be so scattered about?


All the prep-based classes work the same way, though, which is why there's a unified section for spell prep.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are Wizard spell prep rules too vague? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions