Panicked and Cowering


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Q: Can a cowering creature take the Total Defense action? If it does, what happens?

Background below:

I ask because the PRD/CRB say "no actions" under Cowering:

Quote:
Cowering: The character is frozen in fear and can take no actions. A cowering character takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class and loses his Dexterity bonus (if any).

But a Panicked creature who is cornered (and therefore cowers) can apparently defend himself:

Quote:
Panicked: A panicked creature must drop anything it holds and flee at top speed from the source of its fear, as well as any other dangers it encounters, along a random path. It can't take any other actions. In addition, the creature takes a –2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. If cornered, a panicked creature cowers and does not attack, typically using the total defense action in combat. A panicked creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

This is further complicated because Total Defense gives you a dodge bonus to AC, but cowering apparently removes that bonus anyway.

Quote:

Total Defense

You can defend yourself as a standard action. You get a +4 dodge bonus to your AC for 1 round.

Quote:

Dodge Bonuses

Dodge bonuses represent actively avoiding blows. Any situation that denies you your Dexterity bonus also denies you dodge bonuses.

Basically I'm having trouble figuring out what the intended and actual result are here.


I'd say from what you've shared that it could be
1) he runs, tries to total defend by fail because he can't take actions, and if he could it wouldn't improve his AC any.
2) a panicked creature who cowers in a corner isn't actually "Cowering" per the condition. Thus they run there, total defend, and get the AC boost.
My vote is on view 2.


You're right, that is kind of what the frell. FAQ requested.

Dark Archive

I think it is referring to the condition though because cowering is "frozen in fear" - thus it is part of the fear chain, like shaken and frightened, and the only one of those that stops actions is panicked.

The most common (if not only) way to end up cowering is to be panicked and have nowhere to go.

EDIT: Thank you Zhayne!

EDIT 2: I noticed this because I was looking for core changes between 3.5/PF and the "typically takes the total defense action" line was added in Pathfinder - it did not exist in 3.5.


My reasoning for it is there are abilities and spells that give the cowering status.
It could be that the cowering caused by panicked is a special case that lets you total defend. Then it's the rule of whether you get the bonus or not anyways.
Or it could be that they used an English word describing what was meant, that happens to coincide with a game term, but is not referencing that status.

Dark Archive

If the latter is truly the case, all the more reason for them to clarify it since there is an identical game term by that name as well.

Which spell are you referring to?


castigate though fear says that "If cornered, a panicked creature begins cowering." Again, is this saying what would happen anyways? or is it making it so it does cause cowering when it normally wouldn't? I think I'm beginning to head towards supporting my option 1 though from all these maybes.

Dark Archive

Chess Pwn wrote:
castigate though fear says that "If cornered, a panicked creature begins cowering." Again, is this saying what would happen anyways?

I would say so, yes.


I'm beginning to believe so as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Panicked and Cowering All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions