Duelist question


Rules Questions


Say a person had a rapier+sword breaking dagger using 2 weapon fighting. Say that person elected to use parry with the dagger. So with improved 2 weapon fighting that's 2 attacks with the rapier and 2 parries. Since u did not attack with the dagger do u get precise strike damage to ur rapier?

Along same though if u have improved 2 weapon feint and u used the dagger to feint once and parry once does that mean u don't attack and again can add precise strike damage to the 2 rapier attacks? Hmm I just read two weapon feint again. Can u have ur dagger be ur main hand? Or I guess you could attack once parry twice. Is disarm maneuver considered an attack?

Parry (Ex): At 2nd level, a duelist learns to parry the attacks of other creatures, causing them to miss. Whenever the duelist takes a full attack action with a light or one-handed piercing weapon, she can elect not to take one of her attacks. At any time before her next turn, she can attempt to parry an attack against her or an adjacent ally as an immediate action. To parry the attack, the duelist makes an attack roll, using the same bonuses as the attack she chose to forego during her previous action. If her attack roll is greater than the roll of the attacking creature, the attack automatically misses. For each size category that the attacking creature is larger than the duelist, the duelist takes a –4 penalty on her attack roll. The duelist also takes a –4 penalty when attempting to parry an attack made against an adjacent ally. The duelist must declare the use of this ability after the attack is announced, but before the roll is made.

Precise Strike (Ex): A duelist gains the ability to strike precisely with a light or one-handed piercing weapon, adding her duelist level to her damage roll.

When making a precise strike, a duelist cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand or use a shield. A duelist's precise strike only works against living creatures with discernible anatomies. Any creature that is immune to critical hits is also immune to a precise strike, and any item or ability that protects a creature from critical hits also protects a creature from a precise strike.

Two-Weapon Feint (Combat)
You use one weapon to distract your enemy while slipping another past his defenses.
Prerequisites: Dex 15, Int 13, Combat Expertise, Two-Weapon Fighting.
Benefit: While using Two-Weapon Fighting to make melee attacks, you can forgo your first primary-hand melee attack to make a Bluff check to feint an opponent.


Parry only lets you forgo 1 attack, so you wouldn't be able to drop both off-hand attacks to gain 2 parries.

I asked James Jacobs a similar question about TWF and a Duelist's Precise Strike, and he said you wouldn't get PS damage since you're still using a weapon in your other hand (though he's decidedly not the "rules guy" and I still disagree with his position). I later posted my question on the Rules Questions board for people to discuss (I posted it late and kind of forgot about it until after the discussion had faded, so that's why I didn't comment in the thread). Note, I asked these questions before realizing Parry only lets you drop a single attack.

I'm not sure why a Duelist would want to use (Improved) Two-Weapon Feint, unless you have rogue levels and can't get SA otherwise. You could Main-Hand the dagger, but you'd suffer heavier TWF penalties.

Quote:
Is disarm maneuver considered an attack?

Yes, all combat maneuvers are attacks.


Hmm well what about improved unarmed strike using off hand weapon free but still using an attack.

Ya I was creating a lvl 8 swashbuckler rogue lvl 7 duelist


Parry is essentially an opposed attack roll; you're attacking their weapon instead of the enemy itself, so I would probably rule no to the precise damage. There is certainly room for interpretation, and you might want to flag this for an FAQ post.

As for feint, that's even more dicey; again I'd probably say no to the damage since you're pretending to attack with your off hand and can't dedicate the attention necessary for the class feature. I think this is one of those read the rules as they're intended vs as they're worded issues.


So I guess I'll just have to use precise strike only when I make a move action, single attack.

U know duelist in the old days often had a dagger in there offhand. Just saying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Duelist question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions