FLite
|
When you use a dawnflower lantern to consecrate, is the area consecrated to your god? Or to Serenrae?
On command, this ornate Qadiran hooded lantern lights itself with a continual flame or extinguishes itself. Once per day when holding the lantern, the user can speak a command word to use bless. If placed on a sturdy surface and another command word is spoken, it activates a consecrate effect, though this effect immediately ends if the lantern is moved or its light is extinguished.
This spell blesses an area with positive energy. The DC to resist positive channeled energy within this area gains a +3 sacred bonus. Every undead creature entering a consecrated area suffers minor disruption, suffering a –1 penalty on attack rolls, damage rolls, and saves. Undead cannot be created within or summoned into a consecrated area. If the consecrated area contains an altar, shrine, or other permanent fixture dedicated to your deity, pantheon, or aligned higher power, the modifiers given above are doubled (+6 sacred bonus to positive channeled energy DCs, –2 penalties for undead in the area).
You cannot consecrate an area with a similar fixture of a deity other than your own patron. Instead, the consecrate spell curses the area, cutting off its connection with the associated deity or power. This secondary function, if used, does not also grant the bonuses and penalties relating to undead, as given above.
For example, My Priest of Groetus carries a portable alter. If I buy this lantern, each night, can I set up the lantern, and consecrate our camp site for 10 hours? (at -2 penalty to undead?) or does activating the lantern disable my alter?
| Claxon |
I'm uncertain whether the lantern is specific to Sarenrae or not. The item is from the Inner Sea Gods book page 262, according to Archives of Nethys. If you look at that section of the book it will probably tell you whether or not it's something that works only for her followers.
Just guessing, I think it probably is.
| MurphysParadox |
Yeah... as written, the consecrate effect is at will (so long as it is on a sturdy surface and not disturbed). Of course, that may be sloppy editing and the 'once per day' should be transitive across the bless and consecrate abilities. It would still require a standard action to activate. No additional costs are required to activate a magic item (unless otherwise noted).
| Paladin of Baha-who? |
Consecrate doesn't care who created a magic item that is used to cast the spell. Whoever activates a magic item, whether that's a scroll or a wondrous item, is considered the caster. Whoever the caster is, is "you" for the purposes of the rules of the consecrate spell. Therefore, your priest of Groetus is consecrating the area for his own faith, not Sarenrae's.
| Isil-zha |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Well, the real question here is whether the lantern that is clearly related to a certain faith, namely Sarenrae's, would make a consecration containing an altar of Groetus impossible.
While it does not clearly state so in the lanterns description the lantern does have a Sarenrae descriptor.
Since it cannot move while the consecration is in effect it can be interpreted as a fixture for that purpose (and in my opinion is intended as such) the same way a portable alter would be.
RAW you may have found a loophole, but you should talk to your GM before you invest in it.