break spell and non magical attended items


Rules Questions


So the rules say that magic items (including attended ones) get the better of their save or their holder.

Otherwise unattended items generally do not take damage or need to make a save unless otherwise stated or if the wearer rolls a 1.

If I case break on a non-magical bow currently wielded....the save is for the item. Does it use the save for the item (whatever that may be) or the fortitude save of the wielder?


Wielder, I think. Because the wielder is holding the item and would try to prevent the break.

Edit: Yep. Wielder's, if it's better.

"(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature’s saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item’s saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item’s caster level."


Break is an awesome spell!
Is that a adamantine door? Two break spells and its destroyed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / break spell and non magical attended items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions