
Atracious |
Could you potentially make a staff that is a double rod? so that holding the staff would let you pick between 2 different rods to activate?
I'm curious about the idea of a wizard wielding 2 staves that are actually 4 rods for awesome amounts of metamagic rods...thought obviously still only activating 1 per round...but he'd have more options!
Apologies in advance for being ridiculous...

Zog of Deadwood |

Artanthos wrote:I have a 3' wooden pole with a rod screwed into each end....This is kinda what I was looking for...think about it as item invention if you want...
Okay, sure, although for me it kinda breaks the "magic is cool" vibe to postulate rods that screw onto both ends of a mop handle (or whatever), I can at least imagine it, but I am still confused by the reference to "wielding" a double weapon in each hand. If you are holding a staff in either hand you're not gonna hit with either hand. Gandalf's battle prowess in the movies notwithstanding, a quarterstaff is a two handed weapon.

Atracious |
Atracious wrote:Okay, sure, although for me it kinda breaks the "magic is cool" vibe to postulate rods that screw onto both ends of a mop handle (or whatever), I can at least imagine it, but I am still confused by the reference to "wielding" a double weapon in each hand. If you are holding a staff in either hand you're not gonna hit with either hand. Gandalf's battle prowess in the movies notwithstanding, a quarterstaff is a two handed weapon.Artanthos wrote:I have a 3' wooden pole with a rod screwed into each end....This is kinda what I was looking for...think about it as item invention if you want...
It's not about attacking with the staves..it's about a wizard being able to have say, a quicken/maximize metamagic staff and an extend/intensify one so that he can spontaneously apply more types of metamagic to his spells...
I'm wondering if this seems like it could be within the rules, or if this is a big no-no...and if so the rules stating why not...

Nathanael Love |

Just take quick draw and have them dummy corded to your belt so when you drop one the next is out as a free action.
Or forget the three foot wooden pole and use Craft skill to specially make Rods that fit together with an interlocking piece
Or chain them together like a kusari-gami or nunchucks.
None of those things are specifically outlined in the rules, but there's nothing that says you can't.

Thazar |

Playing with the rules only to gain a game advantage is usually a big no-no. DM permission of course overrides all, but you can only use one rod per round. If you want more metamagic effects on a spell you have to provide them yourself.
"A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell, but it is permissible to combine a rod with metamagic feats possessed by the rod's wielder."

DM Says NO!!!!!!!!! |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

It's not about attacking with the staves..it's about a wizard being able to have say, a quicken/maximize metamagic staff and an extend/intensify one so that he can spontaneously apply more types of metamagic to his spells...
I'm wondering if this seems like it could be within the rules, or if this is a big no-no... and if so the rules stating why not ...
Show me the rules saying you can and you'd be good to go...