Impossible Bloodline and Crafting


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

As the title suggests, I have a question about the way the Impossible Bloodline for Sorcerer's affects crafting rules.

Impossible Bloodline

Spontaneous Generation:
Spontaneous Generation: At 3rd level, you gain Craft Wondrous Item as a bonus feat. In addition, when you craft a magic item (except a potion, a spell-trigger item, or a spell-completion item), you may ignore one spell prerequisite without increasing the creation DC. You can ignore an additional spell prerequisite at 9th, 15th, and 20th levels.

When we look at Spontaneous Generation, it says we may ignore up to X spell prerequisites by Y level.

If we get to ignore the spell prerequisite when crafting magic items, with the exceptions listed in the description. Do we also ignore any expensive spell components that it might have?

For example, I want to make a shroud of true resurrection.

Or does the bloodline ability just let me ignore the requirement of having to cast the spell at the necessary time?

By RAW and RAI, I will suppose that the intent is to just ignore spell requirements of items when it is necessary to cast them and not ignore the spell component aspect.


Same could apply to Luck Blades, which use Wish spells.


Shasf wrote:

As the title suggests, I have a question about the way the Impossible Bloodline for Sorcerer's affects crafting rules.

Impossible Bloodline
** spoiler omitted **

When we look at Spontaneous Generation, it says we may ignore up to X spell prerequisites by Y level.

If we get to ignore the spell prerequisite when crafting magic items, with the exceptions listed in the description. Do we also ignore any expensive spell components that it might have?

For example, I want to make a shroud of true resurrection.

Or does the bloodline ability just let me ignore the requirement of having to cast the spell at the necessary time?

By RAW and RAI, I will suppose that the intent is to just ignore spell requirements of items when it is necessary to cast them and not ignore the spell component aspect.

You can already ignore those requirements without Spontaneous Generation. All Spontaneous Generation does is save you a +5 to the Craft DC per prerequisite not met. This is also why it does not work for spell completion items as you cannot ignore those spell prerequisites. You do not get to ignore expensive material components per se. They are already factored into the cost of the item. So you merely need materials equal to the items cost, under Construction Requirements.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Impossible Bloodline and Crafting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions