
Akisu |

Hello all
I was GM'ing a PF society scenario for some friends yesterday, and at the end battle, there were a lot of large creatures involved.
So one of my friends started claiming that large or larger creatures could not move diagonal like medium or smaller could, and that he had done his research about it.
I found this an odd claim and I have been doing my own research, though there was nowhere it was stated that large or larger creatures was prohibited from moving diagonal. Only the illustration in the corebook under combat section showed something, but it was around a hard corner and it therefore didn't specifically stated that the ogre couldn't perform the move because of its size.
I'd like to ask if there are anyone here who knows more about it than we did. Since I couldn't find anything (so far) on Paizo or in the corebook, I'd also appreciate references (if any) about this.

![]() |

I am sure there are others that know more than me, and so it is possible I am mistaken, but...
All creatures, unless specifically mentioned in their stats, can move diagonally. Counts of the spaces as you would normally taking into consideration things they cannot move through.
When you meet this friend again ask him to provide where he found this information. Otherwise you run it as you deem correct.

Remy Balster |

The only diagonal movement issue a Large creature might encounter is if he is trying to pass through two creatures who are diagonal to one another.
Example...
X is empty space. O is the Large Creature. H is another creature. Z is the target destination.
XXXXXXX
XOOXXXX
XOOHXXX
XXHZZXX
XXXZZXX
XXXXXXX
The large creature isn't able to pass through these H guys through that diagonal, as he is too big to fit through there. He would have to go around.
Other than that... it is all fair game, larger sized creature move the same way smaller ones do. Only issue they could have is obstacles in their path, clutter blocks their movement fairly easily since they require larger paths to move through.

vorpaljesus |
Well that would be an incredibly ridiculous rule. Think about it in real terms, the creature wants to move forward and to the right at the same but OH he's too big. Any direction could be considered diagonal in real life.
I know that the grid is an abstraction and yada yada I'm willing to except some smaller more obscure breakdowns in the rules compared to real life. But this one would be simply absurd so, I'm glad that guy's not right at all