
fraserstanton |
We had this sequence of play happen the other day, just posting it here so I can be sure we got it right.
Harsk at random location, discard pile empty just started his turn.
Play Shalelu Andosana and peek at the top card, discard Shalelu and encounter card.
Resolve card triggered encounter (kill random monster).
Play Staff of Minor Healing and recharge both Staff and Shalelu (in that order)
Resolve standard encounter (the regular free one).
Theoretically Harsk could have moved between the first card triggered encounter and the regular free encounter.
Lots of other abilities allow similar mechanics (Detect Magic and Detect Evil are two that pop to mind).
Just making sure that we are playing within the rules.

The_Napier |

the FAQ specifically bans playing cards that allow one to explore before the 'main' explore of the turn (here), so I would hazard a guess that this is against the spirit - while possibly not the letter - of the law

csouth154 |
the FAQ specifically bans playing cards that allow one to explore before the 'main' explore of the turn (here), so I would hazard a guess that this is against the spirit - while possibly not the letter - of the law
The cards he mentioned do not initiate explorations, so what he did was totally fine.

Hawkmoon269 |

It is fine to play an "examine and encounter" card outside of the "explore" part of your turn, because examining and encountering isn't exploring.
If It Isn’t Called Something, It Isn’t That Thing. Detect Magic doesn’t use the word “explore,” so you can play it at times when you can’t explore. Don’t make assumptions—just read the card.