
Shimesen |

In another thread we were talking about creating a wand of a 1st level spell using 3 metamagic feats and magical lineage and spell perfection and why/whynot.
I would like to know if there is any specific rule or FAQ on what determines what level a spell is at when creating an item. As far as I can tell, the only rule on the matter is that creating the item uses the spell from the slot its prepared in when doing the crafting. For me, that says that if I prepared it as a 1st level spell, it is expended at creation as such.

Hendelbolaf |

Normally wands, scrolls, and potions would be crafted at the lowest caster level to cast the spell, ie. 1st for 1st level spells, 3rd for second level spells, etc. As I just got through posting about in another post, you can craft them at a higher caster level, but that is not the norm. It is, however, more common for spell trigger and spell completion items to be crafted at higher caster levels than other magic items, like wondrous items.
I agree with Claxon in that Metamagic Feats can be applied to spells put into items but I do not think other feats would apply. For example if I had Spell Focus Evocation and I crafted a Wand of Fireballs, I do not think the +1 DC would affect the wand as well.

seebs |
Although spell focus (evocation) would affect the DCs of spells cast from a staff.
I think it is pretty clear that it would be Very Bad to allow feats like spell perfection to let you craft an item that gets a metamagic spell effect significantly more cheaply than intended. I don't know whether there's any explicit answer in the rules, but the game balance implications are pretty clear.

Shimesen |

Its not about "is it a bad idea". Its about the fact that metamagic feats ARE allowed to be used when crafting, but other feats arnt. So where is the rule that states this? It doesn't exist, therefore you HAVE to treat all feats equally, which means spell perfection and other similar feats DO apply. Either that or you cannot use metamagic feats. But you can't selectively choose what feats apply to crafting unless you've got a rules to back it up.

Skylancer4 |

The rules state "Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal."
Putting in a spell 2 levels higher than normal due to a meta magic feat is allowed. The calculation cares about the higher adjusted level of the effect, it is more powerful so the price increases.
Your casting of the spell at a lower personal spell slot cost doesn't come into effect when pricing out magical items. Just because you have a reduced effective level and can memorize/cast the higher level effect at a "discount" doesn't matter to the magical item formula. It is concerned with the effective level of the spell effect. Just like items don't care about what your personal DC of a spell is when they replicate a spell you used in their creation.
Traits like magical lineage and feats like spell perfection function on the character mechanically. They reduce the cost of a characters abilities for all intents and purposes. The item isn't you, it doesn't benefit from those things. When pricing an empowered fireball the item creation rules care about the end effect for pricing purposes, not what spell slot you used to to supply the spell during its creation.

![]() |

If you can't model the feat or class ability with a different spell level slot or higher caster level, then you can't use it with an item creation.
Plus the general design of item creation or storing of spells in items is whatever is of the least benefit to the player. That design is the reason behind making an empowered 1st level spell that takes up a 1st level slot for you take the higher level slot during item creation or storing (like spell storing mechanics.)

blahpers |

Its not about "is it a bad idea". Its about the fact that metamagic feats ARE allowed to be used when crafting, but other feats arnt. So where is the rule that states this? It doesn't exist, therefore you HAVE to treat all feats equally, which means spell perfection and other similar feats DO apply. Either that or you cannot use metamagic feats. But you can't selectively choose what feats apply to crafting unless you've got a rules to back it up.
This does not follow. Metamagic feats are explicitly allowed. No such provision exists for other feats.