|
So, rules in PFS currently state that any scrolls purchased are made by clerics, druids, and wizards/sorcerers.
I recently broke a rule (unknowingly) I had misunderstood from someone else. I purchased a scroll of Angelic Aspect, Greater for 1,000 gp. It was used, but honestly didn't change anything during combat.
My question is this: Why can my character (who is a paladin) not purchase this from another paladin? Why does it have to be from a cleric, sorcerer, or wizard? I'm not going to deliberately break rules, but it seems to be a huge slap in the face to other classes. Not only can this not be purchased until 12th level, but if you are creating a scroll of this particular spell you have to be 15th level versus 13th (if you are a paladin).
I guess I don't like the idea that paladins apparently can't put their magic into a scroll but a cleric of a higher level can?
And then you don't pay the cost of an 8th level scroll because it is also a 4th level paladin spell. You would pay a lower price for it anyways?
|
I wouldn't say you get a refund of your gold since you already used it.
[humor]
I would be even more baffled to find a paladin with the Scribe Scroll feat. Honestly, has anybody made a paladin with Scribe Scroll/Brew Potion. Anybody?!? They are feat starved enough as is!
[/humor]
:P
I suspect there are some, but probably not that many.
|
It really does seem disingenuous to give yourself the money back for an item you have used,which appears to be what has happened. I would say you are still out the gp, the fact that it had little effect is irrelevant.
Absolutely. A strict GM would say that you should pay another 2000gp so that you paid the right price for the scroll...
But probably best to just leave things as they stand.
|
It was a mistake first and foremost, and as rules are written, it should have never happened in the first place. Suspend disbelief a little to change this. I have already talked with my GM about it and the issue has been resolved.
Would it also be disingenuous for a player to remember some extra damage that should be applied to an enemy that also kills it before said enemy kills a PC? Does the GM add the damage or not because the players turn is over?
I appreciate the feedback though, and I won't repeat this mistake again.
(This post can be moved/removed now just in case anyone with that ability sees it)
|
|
I wouldn't say you get a refund of your gold since you already used it.
[humor]
I would be even more baffled to find a paladin with the Scribe Scroll feat. Honestly, has anybody made a paladin with Scribe Scroll/Brew Potion. Anybody?!? They are feat starved enough as is!
[/humor]
Or a wizard with scribe scroll has the paladin provide the spell for him when he scribes it.
|
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
I'm one of the GMs who won't "turn back the clock", "correct the oversight", etc. Once a player has finished their turn and I've called the next participant, that's it.
The only exception I'll make is if the correction clearly would have saved a PC from death.
Trying to go back and fix things really interrupts the flow of combat.
It works both ways. I'll often realize I forgot to use a feature like Power Attack, just after the bad guys turn.
This also applies if we discover we've been using a rule wrong. I think it works a certain way, or a player does and I don't catch it. Then someone actually looks it up after a few turns have gone by. Going forward, we use the proper rule, but I don't go back and try to change what's already occurred.