Why do Summoners not have any level 0 spell slots to prepare their spells.?


Rules Questions


Why do Summoners not have any level 0 spell slots to prepare their spells.? http://paizo.com/prd/advanced/baseClasses/summoner.html


The PRD wrote:
Cantrips: A summoner learns a number of cantrips, or 0-level spells, as noted on Table 2–8 under “Spells Known.” These spells are cast like any other spell, but they may be cast any number of times per day. Cantrips prepared using other spell slots, due to metamagic feats, for example, consume spell slots as normally.


Shadowborn wrote:
The PRD wrote:
Cantrips: A summoner learns a number of cantrips, or 0-level spells, as noted on Table 2–8 under “Spells Known.” These spells are cast like any other spell, but they may be cast any number of times per day. Cantrips prepared using other spell slots, due to metamagic feats, for example, consume spell slots as normally.

. So they can cast any of the level 0 spells they know at any time, without consuming any spell slots? Also a quick question, do meta magic feats require you to have an empty spell slot in the level in which the spell will be changed to for the feat?

Grand Lodge

The summoner receives a certain number of cantrips that he knows. He can cast these over and over, so there is no per day limit.

Sczarni

Summoners are spontaneous casters. They may cast any spell they know without preparing it ahead of time. In the case of Cantrips, that means a 1st level Summoner may cast any of the 4 Cantrips they know virtually unlimited times per day.

There is really no such thing as an "empty spell slot" for a spontaneous caster. If you want to cast a 1st level spell with a +1 metamagic feat, it simply counts as one of your 2nd level spells for the day.


You can apply metamagic to a cantrip
it costs the new adjusted level to it. I think for purposes of metamagic cantrips are 0lv spells

Grand Lodge

Zwordsman wrote:

You can apply metamagic to a cantrip

it costs the new adjusted level to it. I think for purposes of metamagic cantrips are 0lv spells

For purposes of metamagic... metamagiced cantrips are 0 PLUS the level adjustment that he metamagic brings to it. Which means they're cast in an expendable slot.

For purposes of save DC, they remain 0 level spells, unless the metamagic used is Heighten Spell.


5 people marked this as a favorite.
MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Why do Summoners not have any level 0 spell slots to prepare their spells.? http://paizo.com/prd/advanced/baseClasses/summoner.html

What's even worse, they don't have any level 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 spell slots in which they can prepare spells, either!


LazarX wrote:
Zwordsman wrote:

You can apply metamagic to a cantrip

it costs the new adjusted level to it. I think for purposes of metamagic cantrips are 0lv spells

For purposes of metamagic... metamagiced cantrips are 0 PLUS the level adjustment that he metamagic brings to it. Which means they're cast in an expendable slot.

For purposes of save DC, they remain 0 level spells, unless the metamagic used is Heighten Spell.

well, its a bit more complex than that. Technically they are always 0th level spels unless Heightened, bit they always count as the level that benefits them less, off the original level and the slot level. So a quickened dancing light would count ad 0th level for DCs, countering darkness and piercing gloes of invulnerability, but 4th for slots and metamagic rods.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Addtion: There is no way to cast a 1+ lvl spell via metamagic and feats/abilities/traits as a 0 lvl spell!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Why do Summoners not have any level 0 spell slots to prepare their spells.? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions