Mount and Summon spells


Rules Questions


This requires some exposition, so please bear with me...

Under the rules for Conjuration (Summoning) the PHB has this to say:

"A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again."

I checked and this exact wording is taken from 3.0 Edition, indicating that this existed prior to the introduction of the Eidolon class features of the Summoner class.

In the Summon Monster spell, it says:

"The spell conjures one of the creatures from the 1st Level list on Table: Summon Monster. You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can choose a different one each time you cast the spell."

The Mount spell has nothing so say via it's limitations.

My question is, if I summon a mount with the mount spell and it 'dies', does that mean I cannot use that spell again for 24 hours?

Additionally, if I summon a dog with Summon Monster and it dies, does this mean that I have to choose a different animal type if I cast the spell again?

Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks

Grand Lodge

You can use the spell, you simply get a different mount or dog. In fact I think it's essentially a random creature each time, not the same specific creature.


In both cases, you can still cast a new mount and summon new dogs with summon monster.

That rule simply means that a specific creature can't be summoned again for 24 hours, which would only matter if you attempt to summon a specific individual being (which most summoning spells are unable to do, anyway).

Edit: Note also that the summoner class specifies that if the eidolon dies, it can't be summoned again until the next day.


LazarX and Are are pretty much right as far as I can tell.
I'd also like to add that to run it otherwise leads to insanity.


Thanks everyone!

Grand Lodge

Note that if you want to continually summon the same creature each time, there's an alternate system for it in one of the 3.5 books that your GM could easily adapt to PF (if they wanted to as well, obviously).


Jeff Merola wrote:
Note that if you want to continually summon the same creature each time, there's an alternate system for it in one of the 3.5 books that your GM could easily adapt to PF (if they wanted to as well, obviously).

Bonus points for mentioning that. I had a very stylistic summoner in 3.5 once because of that specific optional rule :D

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mount and Summon spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions